Aldborough, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png North Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Aldborough

Guide to Aldborough, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Aldborough, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Claro
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Great Ouseburn Gilbert Union PLU
Registration District Knaresborough; Ripon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1634
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Boroughbridge
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Aldborough is presently located in North Yorkshire County, although at one time it was part of the West Riding of Yorkshire. This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1538.

ALDBOROUGH (St. Andrew), a parish, partly in the wapentake of Hallikeld, North Riding Yorkshire, but chiefly in the Lower division of the wapentake of Claro, West Riding in the county of Yorkshire; comprising the ancient borough towns of Aldborough and Boroughbridge, and the townships of Minskip, Rocliff, and Upper and Lower Dunsforth, in the West Riding, with part of that of Humberton with Milby, and the whole of Ellenthorpe, in North Riding; and containing 2473 inhabitants, of whom 615 are in the township of Aldborough, 16½ miles (N. W. by W.) from York, and 205½ (N. N. W.) from London. There is a place of worship for Independents.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Aldborough, Yorkshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
FS = FamilySearch.org
IARC = Archive.org
ALDBOROUGH PARISH (1538) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1720-1739, 1743-1812


FMP 1629-1703 1629-1703 1629-1703 1629-1703
FMP None None 1538-1703 None None None
FREG 1538-1611 None None None 1538-1556 None
FS 1538-1612, 1720-1829 None 1538-1611, 1720-1846, 1866 None Add None
IARC 1538-1611 None 1538-1611 None 1538-1611 None
List of Chapelry's in the Parish

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464250.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 20-26. Date accessed: 10 January 2014.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 27 October 2014.
  3. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 13 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:01.
  • This page has been accessed 2,662 times.