Aldeby, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk ParishesGotoarrow.png Aldeby

Guide to Aldeby, Norfolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Aldeby, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Clavering
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Loddon and Clavering PLU
Registration District Loddon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Brooke
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History


Aldeby St Mary is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norfolk. An ancient priory church in a rural location.

Aldeby Church, built in cruciform shape, with a lofty bell tower near the end of the chancel, was once the church of a small priory as well as that of the parish. The priory was founded in the reign of Henry I (1100-1135) and was a cell of Norwich Cathedral Priory. It probably never had more than ten monks. Traces of the monastic buildings can be seen at Priory Farm. In the 14th century the monks in Religious Houses were often at variance with villagers, and it appears that there was some trouble at Aldeby. There was a dispute over a marl pit, once marl being used on land as lime is nowadays. From evidence when wells are being dug the pit could have been somewhere not far from the church.

Sir Thomas Savage was buried in the chancel of the church in 1376, before the priory was dissolved. The last prior of Aldeby was Edmund Norwich, alias Drake, 1532.

ALDEBY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Loddon and Clavering, hundred of Clavering, E. division of Norfolk, 3 miles (N. E.) from Beccles. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration Districts
  • Loddon1837-1938
  • Norwich Outer 1939-1974
  • Norwich

Church records

Aldeby, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Aldeby, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1725-1812
1725-1812
1725-1812
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This parish does not appear on Record Search as no microfilm for the parish is held.

The Parish Records are deposited at Norfolk Record Office reference PD 676

Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438850

1891 Census Surnames Index courtesy of the Norfolk Transcription Archives

Prior to the 1911 census the household schedule was destroyed and only the enumerator's schedule survives.

The 1911 census of England and Wales was taken on the night of Sunday 2 April 1911 and in addition to households and institutions such as prisons and workhouses, canal boats merchant ships and naval vessels it attempted to include homeless persons. The schedule was completed by an individual and for the first time both this record and the enumerator's schedule were preserved. <br>Two forms of boycott of the census by women are possible due to frustration at government failure to grant women the universal right to vote in parliamentary and local elections. The schedule either records a protest by failure to complete the form in respect of the women in the household or women are absent due to organisation of groups of women staying away from home for the whole night. Research estimates that several thousand women are not found by census search. Find my Past 1911 census search

Land Records

1597 Subsidy Taxes courtesy of Norfolk Transcription Archives

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Union

  • Loddon and Clavering    http://www.institutions.org.uk/workhouses/england/norf/loddon_and_clavering_workhouse.htm
  • Loddon and Clavering Union was incorporated under the terms of 'An Act for the better Relief and Employment of the Poor in the Hundreds of Loddon and Clavering, 4 Geo. III, cap. 90, 1764. A House of Industry was built at Heckingham and this was altered and enlarged in 1836 when it was adopted as the Union workhouse. Loddon and Clavering Board of Guardians was replaced by Guardians Committee No. 13 in 1930.
    Acquisition Received by the Norfolk Record Office on 22 October 1984 (C/GP 12/1, 5-11 273-276), 31 October 2001 (ACC 2001/199 numbered C/GP 12/8), 26 August 1964 (C/GP 12/70), 31 October 2001 (ACC 2001/199 numbered C/GP 12/277-278), 4 June 2009 (ACC 2009/74 numbered C/GP 12/279) and on unknown dates.
    Copies C/GP 12/1-7, 9-13, 15, 19, 22, 25-37, 39-41, 43-49, 51-54, 56-58, 60-77, 86, 89-100, 202-209, 211, 213, 215, 217, 219, 221-223, 250, 277-279 are available on microform.
    RelatedMaterial For records of Guardians Committee No. 13, see C/GC 13.
  • Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites


References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 26-31. Date accessed: 28 Aug 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 21 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:56.
  • This page has been accessed 1,599 times.