Aldenham, HertfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hertfordshire Gotoarrow.png Hertfordshire Parishes Guide to Aldenham, Hertfordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Aldenham, Hertfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cashio
County Hertfordshire
Poor Law Union Watford PLU
Registration District Watford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Watford
Diocese Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon (Hitchin Division)
Location of Archive
Hertfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Aldenham (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Watford, hundred of Cashio, liberty of St. Alban's, county of Hertford, 2 3/4 miles (N. E. by E.) from Watford.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Aldenham, Hertfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
HERTS = Hertfordshire Names Online - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[8]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[9]
ALDENHAM PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1895
1813-1894

FMP 1559-1900 1559-1900 1559-1928 1559-1928 1559-1812 1559-1812
FREG 1559-1659
1559-1659
1559-1659
HERTS To 1837
IGI 1559-1895 1559-1837
JOIN
1560-1837

NBI

1800-1851
PALL
1790-1812

Radlett parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Radlett Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1864-1906
1866-1895

FMP 1866-1912 1866-1912 1887-1902 1887-1902


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288827.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hertfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Aldenham on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, 1831. Adapted. Date accessed: 11 January 2014.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 13 December 2013.
  3. 'The Hertfordshire Collection,' FindMyPast, accessed 3 March 2014.
  4. 'Hertfordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 December 2013.
  5. 'Marriages and Marriage Licences (1538-1922),' Hertfordshire County Council, accessed 6 March 2014.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hertford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 11 December 2013.
  7. Hertfordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 12 December 2013.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 12 December 2013.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 May 2014, at 14:49.
  • This page has been accessed 935 times.