Alderley, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes 

Guide to Alderley, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy:  parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Alderley, Cheshire
St Mary Alderley.jpg
St Mary Alderley
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Macclesfield
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Macclesfield PLU
Registration District Macclesfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1629
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ALDERLEY (St. Mary), is a parish, in the union and hundred of Macclesfield, N. division of the county of Chester, it is 6 miles (W. N. W.) from Macclesfield. Besides the church, there is a chapel at Birtles. The parish contains also places of worship for Wesleyans, and one for Baptists at Great Warford.[1]

Alderley, St. Mary (C of E). An ancient parish church, originally serving the townships of Great Warford, Nether Alderley and Over Alderley. Registers of Baptisms 1629–1988, Marriages 1629–1992 and Burials 1629–1942 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office, where Bishop's Transcripts survive from 1599.

Alderley, a village, a township, and a parish in Cheshire. The village lies on an affluent of the river Bollin, 6 miles W by NW of Macclesfield. It has a station (Alderley Edge) on the L. & N.W.R., about a mile distant, 14 1/2 miles from Manchester, and 175 from London; also, a post office under Crewe; money order and telegraph office, Chelford.

The parish includes the townships of Nether Alderley, Over Alderley, and Great Warford. Acreage of Nether Alderley, 2852 . The parish church is an ancient stone edifice, and was restored in 1855 and 1878.[2]

Alderley was one of the eight ancient parishes of the Macclesfield Hundred of Cheshire. It included the following townships:

Over Alderley
Nether Alderley
Great Warford

Under the Poor Law Amendment Act 1886 these townships became civil parishes in their own right. The three parishes became part of Macclesfield Rural District in 1894.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241238.

Church Records

Alderley St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free[4]
FMP =findmypast
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[7]
Alderley St Mary Parish (1599) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1629-1837


CPR 1629-1871
1629-1871
1629-1871
FMP



1600-1942
1600-1942
FS PR's 1629-1902
  NONE
1629-1901
  NONE
1629-1861   NONE
FS BT'S 1629-1902
  NONE
1629-1901
  NONE
1629-1861
  NONE
JOIN

1599-1837


NBI



1600-1942
TGEN

1629-1837


Alderley records at the Cheshire

  • Parish registers, 1629-1901. CRO call no.: P143/1/1-3, 2/1-2, 3/1-4, 4/1, 5/1.
  • Bishop's transcripts, 1599-1837. CRO microfilm no.: EDB 2

 Here is a list of Alderley parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish Registers: Film
Baptisms: 1629-1849 Banns of marriages: 1754, 1761-1769 Marriages: 1629-1786 Burials: 1629-1812 2147305, items 9-12
Baptisms, 1849-1894 Banns, 1770-1785 Marriages, 1754-1901 Burials, 1813-1861 2147322, items 1-7
Bishops Transcripts: Film
Baptisms, 1599 1647803 Item 2
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1600, 1612-1641, 1661-1821 (with gaps) 1647803 Item 2
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1822-1837 1647804 Item 1

In addition, the library has Phillimore's publication of "Marriages at Alderley, 1629-1837."  FHL Film 88607 Item 2.

The Alderley parish has been transcribed and is available online Cheshire Parish Register project.

Other Anglican churches include:

  • Alderley, St. Mary. The ancient parish church for Over Alderley. Wilmslow, St. Bartholomew. The ancient parish church for Alderley Edge. Refer to Wilmslow for Alderley Edge.
  • Birtles, St. Catherine. The parish church for Over Alderley since 1890.
  • Chorley (Alderley Edge), St. Philip. Built in 1853 as a chapel to Wilmslow, becoming the parish church for Chorley (near Wilmslow) and Alderley Edge in 1866. Registers of Baptisms 1853–1924 and Marriages 1866–1959 have been deposited at the Record Office (no burials here).
  • Lindow, St John the Evangelist. The parish church for part of Alderley Edge since 1877.
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Over Alderley, Methodist Chapel (New Connexion). Built in 1863.
  • Alderley Edge, St Pius X (Roman Catholic). Built in 1946. Alderley-Edge is a locality in Alderley parish.
  • Alderley Edge, Baptist Chapel. Brook Lane. Founded 1890.
  • Alderley Edge, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1863. Registers of baptisms 1863–1979 are at the Cheshire Record Office. Church records for the Alderley Edge Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Chester, 1863-1979, are at the Record Office in Chester, England. CRO call no.: EMS 143/4916/1-2. .
  • Lindow New Connexion Methodist Chapel, Alderley Edge, 1891-1962, are at the Cheshire Record Office in Chester, England. CRO call nos.: EMS 99/4916/1.

Non-Conformist Records: Family History Library in Salt Lake City:

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Macclesfield (1837-1937)
  • Bucklow (1937-1974)

Poor Law Unions

Macclesfield Poor Law Union,Cheshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Nether Aderley on GENIKI

Over Aderley on GENUKI

Aderley Edge on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 26-31. Date accessed: 8 Nov 2013.
  2. J.H.F. Brabner, ed. “The Comprehensive Gazetteer of England and Wales,” (William Mackenzie, London, 1895).
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.
  5. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 15 October 2013.
  7. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 25 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 December 2014, at 19:37.
  • This page has been accessed 5,258 times.