Aldersgate StreetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes Gotoarrow.png Aldersgate Street Chapel

Aldersgate Street Chapel, Middlesex family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Chapel History

Alexandra Park, recreation grounds, NE. Middlesex, 6 miles N. of London.[1]


Aldersgate Street Chapel, or otherwise known as Bishop's Chapel was the residence of the Bishop of London's Chapel with his chambers at London House next door. It was built from the eighteenth century and was used because it was a more convenient place for the Bishop to conduct his affairs being closer to St Paul's Cathedral than his official residence at Fulham Palace.

The Bishop of London originally had responsibility for the church in the British colonies in North America, although after the American Revolution of 1776 all that remained under his jurisdiction were the British West Indies Islands.

Aldersgate was one of the four original gates of London, and formed the extreme corner to the north. It was anciently called "Leyrestow. Aldersgate Street,is dear to business men for its Post Office.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887. Date accessed: 24 Oct. 2013.
  2. Thornbury,W. Old and New London: Volume 2 (1878) Adapted. Date accessed: 13 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:09.
  • This page has been accessed 1,554 times.