Aldingham, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Aldingham, Lancashire family history and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. See a List of Chapelries in Aldingham Parish.

Aldingham, Lancashire
St Cuthbert's Church, Aldingham Lancashire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lonsdale
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Ulverston PLU
Registration District Ulverstone
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Furness and Cartmel
Diocese Chester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ALDINGHAM (St. Cuthbert), a parish, in the union of Ulverston, hundred of Lonsdale north of the Sands, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 5¾ miles (S.) from Ulverston. It was part of the Diocese of Chester until 1847 when it passed to the Diocese of Carlisle as part of the Furness deanery. Other places in the parish include: Gleaston, Birkrig Common, and Leece. [1]

At the centre of the present village, now on the shores of the Bay, is St Cuthbert's Church. An inscription in Durham Cathedral gives the names of several places in the area, including Aldingham, where the body of Saint Cuthbert rested when the Saxons were fleeing from the Danes. It is known that during his life, Cuthbert held lands around Cartmel, on the neighboring peninsula across the Leven Estuary, although it is not known if those possessions extended this far west.

The building dates from the mid 12th century, with extensions being made to the chancel in the 13th century, the addition of the tower in 1350 and extensive restoration taking place in the 19th century and again in 1932. In the eastern wall of the chancel is a hole about 5 inches (130 mm) by 3 inches (76 mm) that goes right through the wall: it is believed this would once have been a place for local lepers to view the church services without having to enter the building.

Resources

Civil Registration of Births, Marriages Deaths - 1837 to the Present

Read about England Civil Registration (vital records) of birth, marriages and deaths on the England main page.

Online Indexes

There are two separate (free) indexes available for Lancashire civil registration of births, marriages and deaths. One index covers all registrations nation-wide, and one index covers the copies of the local registration district office's certificate copies for all registration districts throughout Lancashire, as follows:

  • FreeBMD - an online (free) index to the certificates held at the General Registrar's Office, formerly in London, now in Solihull, Merseyside, UK. The years currently covered in this index include July, 1837 to at least 1940.
  • LancashireBMD - an online index (free) to the local superintendant's registrar of births, marriages and deaths for all registration districts throughout Lancashire, for the following range of years and their events: births 1837-1974; marriages 1837-2010; deaths 1837-1975.
  • Lancashire-OPC provides numerous parish and chapel transcriptions online (free) for the post-1837 to 1910 period. Marriages after 1837 provide the same information as the civil registration certificates of marriages provide. However, the marriages in these online offerings are marriage transcriptions only.

Indexes

FamilySearch's Family History Library British collections holds the quarterly indexes of births, marriages and deaths from July, 1837 to 1983 in microform media.


Church records

Aldingham parish registers and Dendron (its chapelry) registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed for numerous years and by the following groups:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk (for esp. post-1837 BMDs)
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
ALDINGHAM PARISH (1539) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1561-1756
1539-1754
None
LOPC 1638-1877
1638-1848
1638-1877
LBMD None
None
None
AC 1542-1695
1542-1695
1542-1695
FMP

1542-1837


DENDRON Chapelry (1810) Online Records
FS None
None
None
LOPC 1810-1873
None
1816-1873
LBMD None
None
None

The Family History Library at FamilySearch has on microfilm the registers to both the parish of Aldingham and its chapelry Dendron. These are available on the following microfilm--which can be ordered for and searched at any of its 4,600 satellite FamilySearch Centers worldwide:

Aldingham Parish registers--

Baptisms, 1638, 1663, 1676, 1689-1877

Marriages, 1638, 1663, 1676, 1689-1848

Burials, 1638, 1663, 1676, 1689-1877. FHL BRITISH Film 1040315 Items 1 - 4

Dendron Chapel registers FHL BRITISH Film 1472012 Items 6-11

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306914.


Poor Law Unions

Ulverston Poor Law Union,Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.explorelowfurness.co.uk/stcuthbert.htm For detailed history of the church

http://www.carlislediocese.org.uk/churches/deaneries/furness/7030.html Diocese of Carlisle website

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date accessed: 28 July 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:09.
  • This page has been accessed 10,885 times.