Aldrington, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Aldrington, Sussex family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Aldrington, Sussex
Aldrington St Leonard East Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Fishergate
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Steyning PLU
Registration District Steyning
Records begin
Parish registers: Not Known
Bishop's Transcripts: Not Known
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lewes
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ALDRINGTON, EAST, a parish, in the union of Steyning, hundred of Fishergate, rape of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 3 miles (W. by N.) from Brighton.[1] See also.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Steyning registration district until the 1935 reorganisation of registration services
Certificates can be ordered from
Brighton & Hove The Register Office
Brighton Town Hall
Bartholomew Square
Brighton
BN1 1JA 01273 292016 01273 292019 register.office@brighton hove.gov.uk

Church records

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Aldrington

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464160.

Poor Law Unions

Steyning Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 31-34. Date accessed and adapted: 16 September 2013.
  2. John Marius Wilson, A Vision of Britain through Time, (1870-72). Date accessed: 23 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 August 2014, at 20:55.
  • This page has been accessed 1,212 times.