Aleutians East Borough, AlaskaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Alaska
Aleutians East Borough
Guide to Aleutians East Borough Alaska genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Aleutians East Borough, Alaska | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Alaska | |
![]() Location of Alaska in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | information needed |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Sand Point |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Aleutians East Borough[1] Clerk P.O. Box 349 Sand Point, AK 99661 Phone: (907) 383-2699 Aleutians East Borough Website |
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| *For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
Neighboring Boroughs and Census Areas
- Aleutians West Census Area
- Lake and Peninsula Borough
Quick Facts
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Resources
Bible Records
Biography
Business Records and Commerce
Cemeteries
Census
Church Records
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden name; and death date.
For general information about Alaska denominations, see the Alaska Church Records wiki page.
The Family History Library also has copies of many Alaskan church records. To find a list in the Family History Library Catalog, do a Place Search for Alaska, the borough, or the town.
Court Records
Directories
Alaska Online Historical Directories - identifies historical city, county, business and other directories available online on both free and pay-to-access websites. Includes the 1923-4 Alaska-Yukon Territory Polk Business Directory which has listings for Akutan, Belkofski, Cold Bay, False Pass, King Cove, and Unga (see the Skagway-Valdez-Wrangell-Alaska Territorial link).
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Local History
Local histories are available for Aleutians East Borough, Alaska. Borough histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alaska Local Histories.
Land and Property
The first general land office was established at Sitka, Alaska in 1885. Records of subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, are filed at the office of the district recorder in each judicial district. The Family History Library has not acquired copies of Alaskan land records.
Maps
Military
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Aleutians East Borough, Alaska newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
To access newspapers, contact public libraries, college or university libraries, or the Library of Congress.
For more Alaska newspaper information, see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Alaska Newspapers.
Obituaries
Periodicals
Probate
Probate records of Alaska were kept by the district courts prior to statehood. The superior court now has jurisdiction over probate matters. They are available at the archives and offices mentioned in Alaska Court Records. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Alaska.
An index with about 17,000 probate cases from the district court system from 1884 to 1960 is available online. It is arranged alphabetically. See Alaska Probate Records Index.
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
Family History Centers
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Taxation
Alaska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records. The Family History Library has not filmed Alaska tax records.
Real and personal property tax records are kept at the borough's Assessors office.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Department of Health and Social Services, Bureau of Vital Statistics. This office has birth, death and marriage records since 1890's, though, many before 1930 were not registered with the Bureau. It also has divorce records since 1950. For more information, including how to find earlier records, check Alaska Vital Records.
Birth
Marriage
Death
Divorce
Places
Populated Places
- Akutan
- Belkofski
- Cold Bay
- False Pass
- King Cove
- Nelson Lagoon
- Pauloff Harbor
- Sand Point
- Unga
Websites
- Aleutians East Borough Trails to the Past
- Linkpendium
- USGenWeb Archives
- Aleutian Islands GenWeb Project, part of the Alaska GenWeb Project.
- FamilySearch Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Aleutians East Borough p. 48. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
| ||||||||||
| This Alaska-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 4 June 2013, at 19:48.
- This page has been accessed 1,358 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

