Alexander County, North CarolinaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
- This article is about a western North Carolina county. For other uses, see Alexander
Guide to Alexander County North Carolina genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Alexander County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Alexander County Courthouse
201 1ST SW Ste 1
Taylorsville, NC 28681-2592
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death, land records;
Clerk Superior Court has divorce, probate court records from 1865
Alexander was formed in 1847 from Iredell, Caldwell and Wilkes counties. It was named in honor of William J. Alexander of Mecklenburg County, several times member of the Legislature and speaker of the House of Commons.
Alexander County is located in the foothills of the Brushy Mountains in western North Carolina. It is bordered on the south by the Catawba River and Catawba County, on the west by Caldwell County, on the north by Wilkes County , and on the east by Iredell County. Taylorsville, incorprated in 1851, is the county seat of Alexander County. Primary industry includes agriculture, furniture, and textiles. In 2003, the county celebrated its 156th birthday.
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
1865--Many court records were burned by Federal Troops.
For a list of record loss in North Carolina counties see: North Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses
ResourcesList of Records available for Alexander County at the North Carolina State Archives
- List of Cemeteries with transcriptions
- Alexander County cemeteries - via the NCGenWeb Archives
- Alexander County cemeteries - user-submitted burials to Find-A-Grave
- Cemetery transcriptions - from the USGenWeb Tombstone Transcription project
- Census records are available from multiple sources for the state. Check the NC Census Records page for links to free & paid resources.
North Carolina's court system, called the General Court of Justice, is a unified statewide and state-operated system consisting of three divisions: the Appellate Division, the Superior Court and the District Court Division. The Superior Court and District Court Divisions are commonly referred to as the North Carolina Trial Courts.
For some counties the trial Courts have been further subdivided into specialty areas such as Business Court, Family Court, Drug Court, Traffic Court, etc. More information on specialty courts for this county is provided on the left menu.
This web site for the Courts in Alexander County provides specific information on how North Carolina Trial Courts operate within Alexander County.
- Several NC state business directories are available online. Visit this list of directories, and under the "Statewide" category, open the directory and navigate to Alexander County. Directories include information on area businesses and citizens.
- Alexander County College Students - a name list of students at various NC colleges with identified hometowns in the county.
Alexander County Register of Deeds maintains copies of deed and land records, some of which are available from their website for searching. One must register and then sign in following the instructions on the website. Register of Deeds Online Search instructions
Their address is:
Alexander County Register of Deeds
75 1st Street SW
Alexander County was established in 1847, the year of the first sale of land in the county seat (Taylorsville). With the proceeds from the sale, the first courthouse was built on the present site. When the Civil War began, Alexander County was 14 years old. The 1860 population was 5,837; yet Alexander County ranked high per capita in the number of Confederate soldiers serving in the war.The county is named in honor of the Alexander family who were leaders in Colonial North Carolina. Taylorsville is the namesake of either John Louis Taylor, Carolina agriculturist and political philosopher, or General Zachary Taylor, the 12th president of the United States.
- Maps of Alexander County - via Alexander County Government
- Alexander County Maps - via the NC Maps (NC State Library)
Early migration routes to and from Alexander County for European settlers included:
- Catawba and Northern Trail pre-historic
Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.
- - 1st Battalion, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company D
:- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company C
:- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company F
- List of Alexander County Confederate Soldiers
- CSA- Bentley Dedication
- Friendship Dedication-Sons of the Confederate Veterans
- Macedonia Dedication-Sons of the Confederate Veterans
- 1940 Draftees for Alexander County
- 1902 Confederate Soldiers Reunion
- World Wars I and II, Veterans Memorials
- The Taylorsville Time - the current, local newspaper
- Alexander county newspapers - a listing of newspapers published in the county & libraries that hold micoriflm copies; via the Library of Congress.
- Newspaper obituary index Alexander county, North Carolina 1986-1992 taken from The Taylorsville Times, The Time Advatage ... Statesville Record and Landmark - compiled by Evelina Davis Miller [Family History Library| WorldCat]
- Taylorsville index, 8 May 1890-7 May 1891 - by Linda R. Correll. [Family History Library| WorldCat]
- NC Probate Records 1735-1970:Alexander County - online collection from FamilySearch
- Alexander County Estate Records - an index of estate records held at the NC State Archives
- NC Estate Records 1663-1964: Alexander County - online indexed collection with images from FamilySearch
Wills are maintained by the Alexander County Superior Court
29 W. Main Ave.
Taylorsville, NC 28681
PO Box 100
Taylorsville, NC 28681
The person who makes a will is called the "testator" or "devisee." The folks who get the goodies are “legatees" or "devisees." The fellow who makes sure that the final wishes are carried out is the "executor." If the executor happens to be female, she is an "executrix." "Probate" is the process by which the will becomes official and the written desires are validated. There are usually three copies of a will: the original, the one copied into the county clerk's records, and the one issued to the executor. The copy that is committed to the county clerk's book will often contain probate information: witnesses, executor, probate dates, etc
Alexander County Register of Deeds
75 1st Street SW, Suite 1, Taylorsville, NC 28681-2504
Records include Vital Statistics, Marriages, Births, and Deaths as well as Veterans Discharge Records (DD-214s). Following is a breakdown of what kinds of records are available:
The state of North Carolina officially began keeping birth certificates in 1913. (In some outlying areas it began a bit later.) Birth certificates tell where a child was born, who the parents were and their age at the time of the birth. Other information is sometimes listed such as occupation of the father, number of children already in the household, etc.
Delayed Birth Certificates (delayed births)
If someone, somehow, escaped the notice of a birth certificate registrar or happened to be born before births were listed, they could have applied for a delayed birth certificate. To obtain such a certificate, individuals had to supply documentation, often a family Bible record.
North Carolina began keeping Death Certificates in 1913. If an ancestor died before this time, one must turn to such records as wills, tombstones, and family Bibles to find the death date. Death certificates contain the date of death and birth as well as the parents' names and cause of death--and sometimes a good bit more.
One must remember that this information was not supplied by the subject under consideration. All information on a death certificate is supplied by an "informant." Informants are often family members but that does not mean that the information they supplied is 100 percent accurate.
During the majority of North Carolina's history, most of its citizens got married in any manner that suited them. Ministers and magistrates were nice, but often, one concludes, not necessary. This makes the existence of public marriage records chancy at best, but some do exist.
Officially, there were two ways to get married in the state up until 1868. One was through the publication of banns whereby a marriage would be announced on three consecutive Sundays in church. If no one spoke up against the merger, then the couple was free to wed. A certificate stating that this procedure had been followed was supposed to have been created, but, of course, did not have to be placed on file anywhere.
The second method which lasted from 1741-1868 (and overlapped the period of banns) involved the issuance of a marriage bond. The bridegroom obtained these through the Clerk of the County Court. They signified nothing more than that the couple listed intended to marry. It is possible that they changed their mind later and never tied the knot. Originals to all marriage bonds--except those from Granville County which retained its copies--are in the State Archives. Bonds were filed in the County where the intended bride resided. Information on Bonds include bride and groom's names, the bondsman's name and witness (often the clerk of court). Marriage licenses existed for most of North Carolina's history but were not required to be kept until 1851. In 1868, bonds were discontinued and the Register of deeds in each County issued the required marriage licenses.
- North Carolina Births and Christenings, 1866-1964 - search this name index to birth, baptism and christening records from the state; via FamilySearch
- Alexander County Bastardy Bonds 1865-1878 at USGenWeb - free.
- 1867-1968 - Alexander County Marriage Index 1867-1968. Batch M734953 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1868-1894 - Alexander County Marriage Index 1868-1894. Batch M752138 at FamilySearch - free.
- North Carolina Marriages, 1762-1979 - search this database of marriages from across the state - images included; via FamilySearch
- Alexander County marriages - submitted to the NCGenWeb Archives
- Alexander County marriages - may be included throughout Carrie Broughton's 6-volume index of the Raleigh Register & State Gazette newspaper (1799-1893). Marriages are listed by year and PDF files are searchable. Available on the North Carolina Digital Collections website.
- Alexander County Co-Habitation Records of 1866 North Carolina Pioneers $
- North Carolina Marriages to 1799, a database, available to members. North Carolina Pioneers $
- Alexander County Obituaries - user-submitted entries to the NCGenWeb Archives
- North Carolina Death Certificates, 1906-1930 - search a statewide collection of freely available death certificates - images are included; via FamilySearch
- North Carolina Deaths & Burials, 1898-1994 - search death records from across the state; via FamilySearch
Societies and Libraries
- Alexander County Library
- Hiddenite Center - folk & cultural arts center
- North Carolina Genealogical Society
Family History Centers
|Centers provide: • Personal one-on-one assistance • Access to genealogical records through the Internet or microfilm loan program • Free how-to classes (varies by location). See Family History Centers for more information.|
- Alexander County, NC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- NCGenWeb: Alexander County - free genealogy resources; part of the national USGenWeb Project
- FamilySearch Catalog
- USGenWeb Archives: Alexander County, NC
- North Carolina Pioneers North Carolina Pioneers $
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alexander County, North Carolina p. 506. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the Early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 13 October 2014, at 20:02.
- This page has been accessed 14,323 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki