Alger County, MichiganEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Michigan
Alger County
Guide to Alger County Michigan genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Alger County, Michigan | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Michigan in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | 17 March, 1885 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Munising |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Alger County Courthouse 101 Court St. Munising, MI 49862 Phone: (906) 387-2076 Alger County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
County Clerk has birth, death and land records from 1884,
marriage records from 1887, divorce and court records from 1885.
Probate Court has probate records.[1]
History
Parent County
1885--Alger County was created 17 March 1885 from Schoolcraft County.
County seat: Munising [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Census
Available at Munising School Public Library 810 State Hwy. M-28 West, Ste. A
Munising, MI 49862 *United States Census: Schoolcraft County 1850-1910 *Alger County 1900-1920; Territory 1820-1840 *Michigan Indian Census: *Bay Mills [Chippewa] Great Lakes 1935-1937 *Great Lakes [Chippewa & Potawatomi] 1938-1940
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Civil War
Civil War service men from Alger County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment)that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Alger County.
- -
Newspapers
Available at Munising School Public Library
810 State Hwy. M-28 West, Ste. A
Munising, MI 49862
- Munising News 1896-current
- Munising Republican, 1892-1902
- Cloverland Farmer 1915-1923
- Sunday Morning Star, 1890-1891
- Weekly Tribune, June-Dec 1893
- Manistique Courier 1896-1899
- Schoolcraft County Pioneer, 1880-1896
- Semi-Weekly Pioneer, 1886-1888
- Manistique Tri-Weekly Pioneer, 1888-1892
- Tri-Weekly Pioneer 1892-1894
- Semi-weekly Pioneer, 1894-1895
- Manistique Tribune 1896-1899
- Grand Marais Pilot and Pictured Rocks Review 1971-1974
- Alger County Republican 1888-1903
- Alger County Independent, 1938-1940
- Wrights Weekly, 1924-1928
- Lake Superior Breeze, 1906-1907
- Lake Superior Pilot, 1901
- Grand Marais Gazette, 1994-2004
- Grand Marais Herald, 1895-1910
Alger County newspapers available at the Library of Michigan in Lansing include:
Au Train:
- ALGER COUNTY REPUBLICAN (1888-1896)
Grand Marais
- GRAND MARAIS GAZETTE (1994-2004)
- GRAND MARAIS HERALD (1899, 1903, 1905, 1910)
- GRAND MARAIS PILOT & PICTURED ROCKS REVIEW (1971-1994)
Munising
- ALGER COUNTY DEMOCRAT (1891-1892)
- ALGER COUNTY INDEPENDENT (1938-1940)
- CLOVERLAND FARMER (1915-1923)
- LAKE SUPERIOR BREEZE (1906-1907)
- LAKE SUPERIOR PILOT (1901-1901)
- MUNISING NEWS (1898-1899, 1901, 1904-1939, 1989-1991)
- MUNISING REPUBLICAN (1896-1906)
- WRIGHT'S ILLUSTRATED WEEKLY (1923-1928)
Probate
Schools
Munising School Public Library
810 State Hwy. M-28 West, Ste. A
Munising, MI 49862
- Munising High School Yearbooks & Senior Photos
Taxation
Vital Records
- Michigan Birth Registrations, 1867-1902 -- Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as name of child, birthdate and place, if still-born, illegitimate or twin, gender, race and record number.
- Michigan Marriage Registrations, 1868-1925 -- Free name indexes at FamilySearch. Records include such information as names of bride and groom, date of license, ages, race, residences, birthplaces, occupations and names of the fathers of the bride and groom.
- Michigan Death Registrations, 1867-1897 Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as name of deceased, date and place of death, gender, color, marital status, age in years, months and days, disease or apparent cause of death, birthplace, names and occupations of parents, and the date the record was made.
Societies and Libraries
Alger County Historical Society
P.O. Box 201
Munising, MI 49862
This website provides online searchable databases for Alger County cemetery, census, and marriage records.
Grand Marais Historical Society
P.O. Box 179
Grand Marais, MI 49839
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- The Alger County MIGenWeb Project, an member of The MIGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alger County, Michigan page 343, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 12 April 2013, at 21:03.
- This page has been accessed 2,257 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
