All Hallows, Lombard StreetEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
London
London Parishes
All Hallows, Lombard Street
London All Hallows Lombard Street family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers (baptisms, christenings, marriages, and burials), civil registration (births, marriages, and deaths), census records, history, wills, cemetery, online transcriptions and indexes, an interactive map and website resources.
Contents |
Church records
| | |||||||||||||||||||
| |
|
| |||||||||||||||||
| Earliest | |
|
| ||||||||||||||||
| Images | | ||||||||||||||||||
| 1813-1906 | Ancestry[2] | 1754-1921 | Ancestry[3] | 1813-1853 | Ancestry[4] | ||||||||||||||
| Indexes | 1813-1846 | FamilySearch[5] | 1543-1837 | FindMyPast[6] | 1813-1853 | FindMyPast[7] | |||||||||||||
| 1780-1837 | Ancestry[8] | 1813-1853 | BritishOrigins[9] | ||||||||||||||||
| 1813-1837 | FamilySearch[10] | ||||||||||||||||||
Webb published an index to burials for the years 1813 to 1853.[11]
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection. Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.
Non-Conformist Churches
Census records
1541 Subsidy
- 1541 London Subsidy Roll, Bishopsgate Ward - The Parisshe of Alhallowes (Lombard Street), courtesy: British History Online
1547 Subsidy
- All Hallows, Lombard Street, Bridge Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
- All Hallows, Lombard Street, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/143); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
1582 Subsidy
- 1582 London Subsidy Roll, Bridge Ward - Allhallowes Parishe, courtesy: British History Online
- 1582 London Subsidy Roll, Langbourn Ward - All Seyntes Parish en Lumberdstreet, courtesy: British History Online
1621 Subsidy
- All Hallows, Lombard Street, Bridge Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/484); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
- All Hallows, Lombard Street, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/490); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
1628 Subsidy
- All Hallows, Lombard Street, Bridge Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/562); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
1638 Inhabitants List
1646 Subsidy
- All Hallows, Lombard Street, Bishopsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/597); copy: FHL Film 2228705.
1666 Hearth Tax
1692-1932 Land Taxes
1695 Inhabitants Lists
1811 Census
The 1811 Census exists.[12]
1821 Census
The 1821 Census exists.[12]
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. |
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.
Before 1858, All Hallows, Lombard Street fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Arches of the Archbishop of Canterbury. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.
Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Cemetery
A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the All Hallows Lombard Street churchyard.[13]
Find A Grave has started a page about burials at All Hallows Lombard Street.
Records of the Poor
Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.
Parish History
'All Hallows, Lombard Street, the church of, is situate in Bell Alley, near the north corner of Lombard Street, in the Ward of Langborn. A church stood here dedicated to the same patrons before the year 1053. It is a rectory, and one of the 13 peculiars within the city, appertaining to the see of Canterbury.The advowson appears to have been anciently in lay hands, as Brithmer, a wealthy citizen, with the approbation calls Archbishop Stigand and Dean Goderic, give it with a messuage adjoining to the cathedral church of Canterbury in the year 1503; by virtue of which donative it still remains in the gift of the Dean and chapter of the Metropolitan Church. It is a neat, plain, and like all Sir Christopher Wren's churches, a welcome proportioned edifice. The body is 84 feet in length, 52 in breadth and 30 in height.'[14]
All Hallows Lombard Street was a part of Langbourn Ward. The modern name of this parish is All Hallows, Twickenham.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).- All Hallows, Twickenham (official website)
- London Family History Centre Catalogue
- Society of Genealogists Library Catalogue (to narrow results, conduct a subject search for 'London All Hallows Lombard Street')
References
- ↑ London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as All Hallows Lombard Street in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
- ↑ London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as All Hallows Lombard Street in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- ↑ London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as All Hallows Lombard Street in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- ↑ London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as All Hallows Lombard Street in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- ↑ Batch C037651, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts.
- ↑ 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
- ↑ John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
- ↑ Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
- ↑ 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins, accessed 4 April 2013.
- ↑ Batch M037651, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts.
- ↑ Cliff Webb, Some London Burials, Post-1812 (1979). FHL Book 942.1/L1 K29w.
- ↑ 12.0 12.1 Colin R. Chapman, Pre-1841 Censuses and Population Listings in the British Isles, 5th ed. (Dursley, U.K.: Lochin Publising, 2002), 68, 71.
- ↑ Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
- ↑ James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 4 October 2012, at 21:06.
- This page has been accessed 947 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

