All Hallows Bread Street with St John the EvangelistEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
London
London Parishes
All Hallows Bread Street with St John the Evangelist
London All Hallows Bread Street with St John the Evangelist family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers (baptisms, christenings, marriages, and burials), civil registration (births, marriages, and deaths), census records, history, wills, cemetery, online transcriptions and indexes, an interactive map and website resources.
Contents |
Church records
All Hallows, Bread Street and St John the Evangelist Friday Street were originally two parishes. Each maintained separate parish registers.
All Hallows Bread Street Parish
| | |||||||||||||||||||
| |
|
| |||||||||||||||||
| Earliest | |
|
| ||||||||||||||||
| Images | | ||||||||||||||||||
| 1813-1892 | Ancestry[2] | 1754-1876 | Ancestry[3] | 1813-1851 | Ancestry[4] | ||||||||||||||
| Indexes | 1538-1875 | FamilySearch[5] | 1538-1837 | FindMyPast[6] | 1538-1851 | InternetArchive[7] | |||||||||||||
| 1538-1892 | InternetArchive[7] | 1538-1876 | InternetArchive[7] | 1538-1851 | TheGenealogist[8] | ||||||||||||||
| 1538-1892 | FreeReg[9] | 1538-1876 | FreeReg[9] | 1538-1851 | FreeReg[9] | ||||||||||||||
| 1538-1866 | TheGenealogist[8] | 1559-1664 | FindMyPast[10] | ||||||||||||||||
| 1776-1800 | British Origins[11] | 1813-1851 | FindMyPast[12] | ||||||||||||||||
| 1780-1837 | Ancestry[13] | 1813-1851 | BritishOrigins[14] | ||||||||||||||||
St John the Evangelist Friday Street Parish
| | |||||||||||||||||||
| |
|
| |||||||||||||||||
| Earliest | |
|
| ||||||||||||||||
| Images | | ||||||||||||||||||
| 1813-1821 | Ancestry[2] | 1906-1910 | Ancestry[3] | 1813-1822 | Ancestry[4] | ||||||||||||||
| Indexes | 1653-1821 | FamilySearch[15] | 1653-1666 | FindMyPast[6] | 1654-1818 | FindMyPast[12] | |||||||||||||
| 1653-1821 | InternetArchive[7] | 1653-1666 | InternetArchive[7] | 1653-1822 | InternetArchive[7] | ||||||||||||||
| 1653-1821 | FreeReg[9] | 1653-1666 | FreeReg[9] | 1653-1822 | FreeReg[9] | ||||||||||||||
| 1654-1666 | TheGenealogist[8] | 1653-1822 | TheGenealogist[8] | ||||||||||||||||
| 1780-1837 | Ancestry[13] | 1813-1822 | FindMyPast[10] | ||||||||||||||||
| 1813-1822 | BritishOrigins[14] | ||||||||||||||||||
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes. Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection. Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.
Non-Conformist Churches
Census records
1541 Subsidy
- 1541 London Subsidy Roll, Bread Street Ward - Alhalleu Paryshe, courtesy: British History Online
- 1541 London Subsidy Roll, Cordwainer Ward - Allhallowe Paryshe, courtesy: British History Online (is this the correct Allhallows?)
- 1541 London Subsidy Roll, Bread Street Ward - Saynt John the Evangelyst Paryshe in Watlyn Strett, courtesy: British History Online
- 1541 London Subsidy Roll, Farringdon Ward Within - The Parish of Seynt Ewen (or St. Audoen), courtesy: British History Online (is this St. John the Evangelist?)
1547 Subsidy
- All Hallows, Bread Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/140); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
- All Hallows, Bread Street, Cordwainer Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/141); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
- St John the Evangelist, Friday Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/140); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
1582 Subsidy
- 1582 London Subsidy Roll, Bread Street Ward - Allhallowes Parishe, courtesy: British History Online
- 1582 London Subsidy Roll - St John Evangelist Parishe, courtesy: British History Online
1589 Subsidy
- FamilySearch Books Online (see page 150)
- FamilySearch Books Online, courtesy: Family History Archives (see page 150)
1621 Subsidy
- All Hallows, Bread Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/483); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
- St John the Evangelist, Friday Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/483); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
1638 Inhabitants List
- Inhabitants of London in 1638 - All Hallows, Bread Street, courtesy: British History Online.
- Inhabitants of London in 1638 - St. John the Evangelist in Watling Street, courtesy: British History Online.
1645-1646 Subsidy
- All Hallows, Bread Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/590 Part 2); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
1692-1932 Land Taxes
1695 Inhabitants Lists
- London Inhabitants Within the Walls 1695, courtesy: British History Online. (see also supplements)
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. |
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.
Before 1858, All Hallows Bread Street with St John the Evangelist fell under the jurisdiction of the The Court of Arches of the Archbishop of Canterbury. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.
Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Cemetery
Transcripts of early All Hallows Bread Street with St John the Evangelist tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[16]
A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St John the Evangelist churchyard.[17]
Records of the Poor
During the seventeenth century, officials gave some foundlings discovered in St John the Evangelist Parish the unique surname Evangelist.[18]
Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.
Parish History
All Hallows Bread Street Timeline
- 1227 - first mentioned
- 1666 - church destroyed by Great Fire of London[19]
- 1681-1684 - church rebuilt; united with St John the Evangelist Parish
- 1878 - church demolished; furnishings distributed among other London churches
St John the Evangelist Timeline
- 1666 - church destroyed by Great Fire of London; never rebuilt; united with All Hallows Bread Street Parish[19]
1831 description
'All Hallows Bread Street is situated at the corner of Bread Street and Watling Street, and takes its name from the same dedication as the last, and its situation, which is near to the ancient Bread Market of the city. It was originally a rectory of very ancient foundation, under the patronage of the Prior and Canons of Christ Church, Canterbury, but since the Reformation it was conveyed to the Archbishop of Canterbury, of which see, it is one of the thirteen peculiars within the city. The old church was destroyed by the great fire in 1666. The present edifice was erected from the designs of Sir Christopher Wren as a church in the united parishes of All Hallows, Bread Street, and St. John the Evangelist, the old church of which stood at the northeast of Friday Street and and Watling Street. The body of the church's plain, with dressings of the Tuscan order. It is 72 feet in length, 35 in breadth and 30 in height. It is an excellent specimen of the talents of Sir Christopher Wren in substantial and useful church building.'[20]
All Hallows Bread Street and St John the Evangelist parishes were part of Bread Street Ward. The parish name has also been spelled Allhallows Bread Street. All Hallows Bread Street Church was torn down in 1876.
St John the Evangelist Parish was also known as St John the Evangelist Friday Street Parish. Another name is St John the Evangelist Watling Street Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
- London Family History Centre Catalogue (All Hallows Bread Street Parish Church records)
- London Family History Centre Catalogue (St John the Evangelist Friday Street Parish Church records)
- Sketch of All Hallows Bread Street Parish Church, courtesy: London Ancestor
- Society of Genealogists Library Catalogue (to narrow results, conduct subject searches for 'London All Hallows Bread Street' or 'London St John the Evangelist')
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as All Hallows Bread Street in the City of London | St John the Evangelist Friday Street in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as All Hallows Bread Street in the City of London | St John the Evangelist Friday Street in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as All Hallows Bread Street in the City of London | St John the Evangelist Friday Street in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as All Hallows Bread Street in the City of London | St John the Evangelist Friday Street in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- ↑ Batch P015481, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
- ↑ 7.0 7.1 7.2 7.3 7.4 7.5 William Bruce Bannerman, The Registers of All Hallows, Bread Street, and of St. John the Evangelist, Friday Street, London (London, 1913). Digital version at Internet Archive. Index to All Hallows begins on page 243 (image 525). St. John the Evangelist Parish Registers begin on image 652. The index begins on image 729.
- ↑ 8.0 8.1 8.2 8.3 "London Parish Record Transcripts," The Genealogist, accessed 12 December 2011.
- ↑ 9.0 9.1 9.2 9.3 9.4 9.5 Middlesex and London Coverage, FreeReg, accessed 6 November 2012.
- ↑ 10.0 10.1 'Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
- ↑ 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 4 July 2011.
- ↑ 12.0 12.1 'Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
- ↑ 13.0 13.1 Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
- ↑ 14.0 14.1 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins, accessed 4 April 2013.
- ↑ Batch P018751, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts.
- ↑ Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
- ↑ Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
- ↑ Nathan W. Murphy, "London Foundlings in Colonial America: Overseas Leads to Dead Ends: John Abchurch, William Abchurch, Isaac Jewry, and Henry Woolchurch of Virginia and Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Jul./Oct. 2008):131-140.
- ↑ 19.0 19.1 Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
- ↑ James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 26 December 2012, at 20:10.
- This page has been accessed 1,486 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
