Allen County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

This article is about a northeast Indiana county. For other uses, see Allen.

United States  Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Allen County

Guide to Allen County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records


Allen County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 17, 1823
County Seat Fort Wayne
Courthouse
Address Allen County Courthouse
715 S Calhoun Street #200
Fort Wayne, IN 46802
Phone. 260.449.7245
Allen County Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
 
Marriage
 
Death
 
Land
 
Probate
1882*
 
1824*
 
1870*
 
1824
 
1825
*For earlier dates, 

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries 

  • Parent Counties: Formed December 17, 1823 from Delaware New Purchase and unorganized territory.[1]
  • County Seat: Fort Wayne [2]


Neighboring Counties

DeKalb  • Noble  • Whitley  • Huntington  • Wells  • Adam  • Van Wert  • Paulding  • Defiance

Auglaize CountyAllen CountyDeKalb CountyNoble CountyHuntington CountyAdams CountyVan Wert CountyHenry CountyAllen CountyPutnam CountyDefiance CountyPaulding CountyWells CountyWhitley CountyMercer CountyINAllen.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

Census Records

For tips on accessing Allen County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.

General

Catholic
Christian Church (Disciples of Christ)
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Fort Wayne
Presbyterian

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Allen County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Directories

Fold3.com ($) has Fort Wayne City Directories 1902-1923 and miscellaneous years dating back to 1861 available online.

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Historical Photos

Histories

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Allen County, Indiana. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information.

For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Indiana Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Allen County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Maps

Military Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Allen County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment)that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Allen County.


World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
World War II, 1941-1945

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Allen County, Indiana newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings. The Indiana Division of the Indiana State Library has the state’s largest newspaper collection. Their newspaper microfilms are available through inter-library loan. For a county-by-county inventory of their 16,500 reels of Indiana newspaper microfilms, see their Indiana Collection.

Other places to access newspapers are Newspaper Archive ($)(may be free at your local library), public librariescollege or university libraries, the Library of Congress, or Google News.

For more Indiana newspaper information see the wiki page Indiana Newspapers.

Obituaries

  • Obituary Index, 1841-September 2010 Web site shows name, date of obituary and name of newspaper and page for the Fort Wayne and Allen County areas. There are more than 542,000 records in the database.

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

  • Guardianship Records, 1829-1905. Index gives the name of the ward and usually the name of the guardian, date of appointment, heir of, and volume/page of the original record.
Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Allen County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

School Records
Voter Registration

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records records from 1824, divorce, probate and court records from 1823.
County Recorder has land records.
County Board of Health has birth, death and burial records.[4]

Archives
Libraries

The Allen County Public Library houses one of the largest genealogical record collections in the world.  They can be visited at: www.acpl.lib.in.us. Phone: 260-421-1252

Museums
Societies
Family History Centers

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Public Records


Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Allen County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records. See also How to order Indiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

Marriage licenses were required by counties beginning in 1800. Original marriage records are held at the office of the Allen County, Indiana County Clerk with divorce records located with the Allen County, Indiana Clerk of Courts.



Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records

FamilySearch

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Allen County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:



Web Sites

Places

  • 92 Towns Past and Present
  • Aboite Twp.: Dunfee
  • Adams Twp.: Adams Station, New Haven
  • Cedar Creek Twp.: Cedarville, Grabill, Hamilton, Hursh, Leo, Urbana
  • Eel River Twp.: Potter Station
  • Jackson Twp.: Baldwin, Edgerton, Townley
  • Jefferson Twp.: Besancon, Maples, Tillman, Zulu
  • Lafayette Twp.: Aboite, Aboite Station, Nine Mile, Zanesville
  • Lake Twp.: Arcola, Hadley
  • Madison Twp.: Boston Corner, Centreville, Hoagland, Massilon
  • Marion Twp.: Hessen Cassel, Middletown, Poe, Williamsport
  • Maumee Twp.: Bluecast, Edwardsville, Woodburn
  • Milan Twp.: Fairport, Gar Creek, Milan Center
  • Monroe Twp.: Dixon (OH), East Liberty, Monroeville
  • Perry Twp.: Carrolls, Huntertown, Hunterville, Royville
  • Pleasant Twp.: Sheldon, Yoder
  • St. Joseph Twp.
  • Scipio Twp.
  • Springfield Twp.: Cuba, Halls Corners, Harlan, Maysville
  • Washington Twp.: Academie, Wallen
  • Wayne Twp.: Fort Wayne, Kekionga, Lewisburg, South Wayne, Waynedale

References

  1. Ancestry.com wiki contributors, "Allen County, Indiana" in Ancestry.com: Wiki at http://www.ancestry.com/wiki/index.php?title=Allen _County,_Indiana (accessed 4 August 2012).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Allen County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Allen_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. 3.0 3.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/91/Igiindiana.pdf.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Allen, Indiana 211 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 October 2014, at 15:27.
  • This page has been accessed 32,082 times.