Allen County, OhioEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Allen County, Ohio ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United StatesGotoarrow.png Ohio Gotoarrow.png Allen County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Ohio
Online Records
Allen County, Ohio
Map
Boundary map of Allen County, Ohio
Map of the U.S. highlighting Ohio
Location of Ohio in the U.S.
Courthouse
Allen County, Ohio Courthouse.jpg
Address Allen County Courthouse
301 N. Main St.
Lima, Ohio 45801-4456
Allen County Website
Phone: 419.223.8513


Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1867
1831
1867
1831
1835
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries
  • Parent Counties: Formed from Shelby, Logan, and Mercer counties 12 February 1820.[1]
  • County Seat: Lima


Neighboring Counties

Putnam County  • Van Wert County  • Auglaize County  • Hardin County  • Hancock County


Allen CountyVan Wert CountyPaulding CountyHancock CountyHardin CountyWyandot CountyUnion CountyLogan CountyAuglaize CountyMercer CountyShelby CountyPutnam CountyOHAllen.JPG


Boundary Changes

  • 14 February 1848: Auglaize County was set off from the southern half of original Allen County.
  • 1848: Monroe, Richland and southern half of Sugar Creek Townships were transferred from Putnam County.
  • 1848: Parts of VanWert and Mercer counties were transferred to Allen County form Spencer Township and part of Marion Township.
  • May 1853: Cash settlement was agreed upon by Allen and Putnam counties for Putnam's loss.

For animated maps illustrating Ohio county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Ohio County Boundary Maps" (1788-1888) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Fire.png
1929--Allen County Courthouse was destroyed by fire on January 7, 1929. Many county records destroyed.[2]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

For a list of record loss in Ohio counties see: Ohio Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

For an extensive list of resources for Bible Records see Ohio Bible Records.

Biography

Business Records and Commerce

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information. Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories Rural

  • Cemetery transcriptions for the following cemeteries: Fisher, Harrods, Ridge, Westminster
  • Salem Cemetery, Harrod BillionGraves

Urban

Cemeteries of Lima, Allen County, Ohio

  • Gethsemani Cemetery, 2001 Spencerville Road, Lima, Ohio 45805, 419-223-1651
  • Memorial Park Cemetery, 3000 Harding Highway, Lima, Ohio 45804, 419-223-3811
  • Woodlawn Cemetery, 1751 Spencerville Road, Lima Ohio 45805, 419-223-9831


Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGenWeb

Billion Graves

Billion Graves

Epodunk

Ohio Gravestones

Names in Stone

See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1830578
18409,0791,470.8%
185012,10933.4%
186019,18558.4%
187023,62323.1%
188031,31432.6%
189040,64429.8%
190047,97618.0%
191056,58017.9%
192068,22320.6%
193069,4191.8%
194073,3035.6%
195088,18320.3%
1960103,69117.6%
1970111,1447.2%
1980112,2411.0%
1990109,755−2.2%
2000108,743−0.9%
Est. 2008[3]105,168−3.3%
1785
1850--Federal Census transcription and images
1920--index for surnames beginning with the letter "E" and "F"

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.

Catholic
  • 1796–2004 Ohio, Diocese of Toledo, Catholic Parish Records, 1796-2004 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. This collection includes images of parish registers recording the events of baptism, first communion, confirmation, marriage, and death in the Diocese of Toledo (Ohio), Roman Catholic Church. These records are accessed by browsing the images by county. In addition to traditional parish registers, this collection includes miscellaneous cemetery records, Books of the Elect, Professions of Faith, Sick Call registers, etc.
Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Allen County, Ohio Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

  • The Shawnees (tribe) were removed to Kansas in 1832 from the Hog Creek Reservation (now Shawnee Township.)

Local histories are available for Allen County, Ohio. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.

Local Histories

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Allen County, Ohio Land and Property Records in online catalogs like:



Maps

Ohallen.jpg

Migration

Military

Revolutionary War

War of 1812

Civil War

  • Civil War service men from Van Wert County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Van Wert County.
-4th Regiment, Ohio Cavalry, Companies F and I
-99th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Companies B and E

World War I

Miscellaneous

Naturalization and Citizenship

County Museum has naturalizations 1851-1929.[1]

Newspapers

Allen County, Ohio newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.

For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers.

Online Newspapers
Online Newspaper Abstracts
Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form

Finding More Ohio Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Allen County, Ohio newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Allen County, Ohio Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Allen County, Ohio Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:

See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).


  • 1790–1967 - Ohio, Probate Records, 1790-1967 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. This collection consists of probate records and estate files from county courthouses in Ohio. The content and time period varies by county, with more records being added as they become available. This Collection will include records from 1789 to 1996. Currently, (September 2012) the collection is only searchable by browsing the images. A list of Fires that have destroyed records in the courthouses of several counties are listed on the Record Description page.
Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Allen County, Ohio Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

Repositories

See also a List of Ohio Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

County Courthouse

Allen County Courthouse
301 N Main Street
Lima, OH 45801-4456

Allen County Website
Phone: 419.223.8513

Probate Court  has births and deaths from 1867, marriages from 1831, and probate records.
Court Clerk  has divorces and court records from 1831.
County Museum  has naturalizations 1851-1929.[1]

Family History Centers


FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FamilySearch Center for Allen County, Ohio is the Lima Ohio Family History Center. For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory.

Libraries
Museums
Societies

Including the Elizabeth M. MacDonell Memorial Library for genealogical and historical research

 Taxation

Ohio tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Ohio Taxation.

1834 Tax Lists

Taxpayers--Personal Property

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Allen County, Ohio Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Original Death Records on Microfilm

Divorce
  • Divorce Petitions and Decrees

1876 | 1878 | 1879 | 1880 | 1881 | 1882 | 1883 | 1884 | 1885 | 1886 | 1887 | 1888 | 1889 | 1890 | 1891 | 1892 | 1893 | 1894 | 1895 | 1896 | 1897 | 1898-1899 |

  • Divorce Petitions and Decrees for Allen and Van Wert Counties, and Surrounding Areas, 1898-1900

1898-1900 | 1901 | 1902 | 1903 | 1904 | 1905 | 1906 | 1905-1906 | 1907 | 1908 | 1909 | 1900 | 1910 | 1911 | 1912 | 1913 | 1914 | 1915 | 1916 | 1917 | 1918 | 1919 |

Finding More Vital Records

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Allen County, Ohio Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Web Sites

Places

Populated Places

Cities

  • Lima

Villages

  • Cairo
  • Elida
  • Fort Shawnee
  • Harrod
  • Lafayette
  • Spencerville

Townships

  • Amanda
  • American
  • Auglaize
  • Bath
  • Jackson
  • Marion
  • Monroe
  • Perry
  • Richland
  • Shawnee
  • Spencer
  • Sugar Creek

Communities

  • Gomer
  • Westminster

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Allen County, Ohio, 540. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. GenDisasters.com - Lima, OH Allen County Courthouse Fire, Jan 1929 http://www3.gendisasters.com/ohio/7579/lima-oh-courthouse-fire-jan-1929
  3. "Allen County QuickFacts". U.S. Census Bureau. 2008-07-25. http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/states/39/39003.html. Retrieved 2010-02-11. 
  4. Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981). FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 December 2014, at 17:47.
  • This page has been accessed 41,246 times.