Allendale, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Allendale, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Allendale, Northumberland
St Cuthbert Allendale Northumberland.jpg
St Cuthbert Allendale Northumberland
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tindale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Hexham PLU
Registration District Hexham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1662
Bishop's Transcripts: 1741
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hexham
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ALLENDALE, a market-town and parish, in the union of Hexham, S. division of Tindale ward and of Northumberland, 7 miles (S.) from Haydon-Bridge, 9¾ miles (S. W. by W.) from Hexham, and 286 (N. N. W.) from London; comprising the grieveships of Allendale town, Broadside, Catton, High and Low Forest, Keenly Park, and West Allen High and Low.[1]

Allendale, St Cuthbert. The first church in Allendale was built in 1174 as a chapel[2] in the ancient parish of Hexham. Allendale Parish is divided into nine grieveships: Allendale Town, Broadside, Catton, High Forest, Low Forest, Keenley, Park, West Allen (High) and West Allen (Low). The village of Allenheads is situated in High Forest Grieveship, Ninebanks (previously Nine Banks) is in West Allen (Low), and Carr Shield is in West Allen (High).

The parish of Allendale St Peter was created a parish in 1819 as a former chapelry within the parish of St Cuthbert.

See Allendale for other churches in this Parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/4 1838-1852 and 1843-April 1853 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. Also available under the same reference are the Burial Ground Register transcripts for 1871-1892 for the Allendale, Alston, Edmundbyers and Haltwhistle Friends. See also Alston and Haltwhistle Friends, Edmundbyers Friends and Haltwhistle Friends.  

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Allendale, St Cuthbert: Records of baptisms 1662-1964, marriages 1662-1972 and burials 1662-1929 are available at Northumberland Collections Service   Bishops' Transcripts for the periods 1740-1770 and 1772-1842 are deposited at the Borthwick Institute University of York. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1662-1875 and marriages 1662-1877 for Allendale Parish but it is not included in Boyd's Marriage Index. Transcripts of baptisms and marriages 1662-1684, burials 1662-1684, 1690-1851 and of monument inscriptions are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept.

Allendale, St Peter in the Forest and Allenheads: Records of baptisms 1785-1952, marriages 1828-1950 and burials 1785-1959 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. Bishops' Transcripts for the periods 1792-1837, 1839 and 1840 are deposited at the Borthwick Institute University of York. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1785-1875 and marriages 1823-1876 for this parish but it is not included in Boyd's Marriage Index. A transcript of burials 1762-1825 is available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept. For earlier entries see Allendale, St Cuthbert.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438894.

Poor Law Unions

Hexham Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References

  

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 May 2014, at 19:30.
  • This page has been accessed 1,685 times.