Allendale County, South CarolinaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
South Carolina
Allendale County
Allendale County, South Carolina genealogy and family history research guide. Introduces you to county topics such as vital record births, marriages, divorces, and deaths, census, court records, deeds, maps, immigration, maps, military records, newspapers, obituaries, plantations, probate records, slaves, local archives, libraries, museums, churches, cemeteries, and Civil War records.
Coordinates: 32.99°0′N 81.35°0′W / 32.99°N 81.35°W
| Allendale County, South Carolina | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of South Carolina | |
![]() Location of South Carolina in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 6, 1919 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Allendale |
| Courthouse | |
Allendale County South Carolina Quick Dates
Allendale County's civil records start the following years:
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1919 | 1919 | 1919 | 1920 | 1919 | 1919 |
Allendale County South Carolina Courthouse
Allendale County Courthouse292 Barnwell Hwy.
Allendale, SC 29810
Allendale County Probate Judge
P.O. Box 603
Allendale, SC 29810
Phone: 803-584-5157
Probate and Marriage records
Allendale County Clerk of Court
P.O. Box 126
Allendale, SC 19810
Phone: 803-584-2737
Court records
Allendale County South Carolina History
Allendale County is named for the town of Allendale which was named for Paul H. Allen, the first postmaster of Allendale.[1] Allendale County is the youngest of South Carolina's counties.[2] Learn more about the history of Allendale County from the South Carolina State Library or from Carolana.com.
Parent County/Boundary Changes
For more information as well as maps of Allendale County through time, see the South Carolina State Archives or South Carolina County Maps and Atlases.
County Pronunciation
County Seat
The county seat of Allendale County is Allendale.
Record Loss
Allendale County South Carolina Places / Localities
| |||||||||||||||
Allendale County South Carolina Genealogy Resources
Research Guides
- South Carolina Archives Summary Guide: Allendale County, available online, courtesy: South Carolina Department of Archives and History.
- W.P.A. Inventory of the County Archives of South Carolina No. 3, Allendale County (Allendale). Columbia, S.C.: Historical Records Survey, 1938. FHL 975.777 A5h
African Americans
United States African Americans
South Carolina African Americans
- Vandervelde, Isabel. Other Free People in Early Barnwell District. Newberry, S.C.: Art Studio Press, 2001. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online; FHL Book 929.273 G139v
Known plantations South Carolina Plantations:
- Beldock Mills
- Belfast
- Bonniewood
- Bull Pond
- Cedar Grove - Martin
- Cedar Hall - Boiling Springs
- Colding-Walker House - Appleton
- Duck Branch
- Duck Savannah
- Dyches Mill - Baldock
- Elmwood
- Erwinton - Bull Pond
- Gravel Hill - Bull Pond
- Groton - Solomons Crossroads
- Hickory Hill
- Ivanhoe
- Joint Stock
- Lacklawn - Allendale
- Lethe
- Levy's Bay - Barton
- Lime Spring - Barton
- Mixon
- Mock Orange
- Oakland
- Oaklawn
- Obininanza
- Old Dry Slope - Orange Hill
- Orange Grove - Johnsons Landing
- Richmond Hill
- River Swamp
- Robwood - Appleton
- Roselawn - Allendale
- Seminole
- Sycamore
- Stillwood - Barton
- Vauclause
- Willingham - Bull Pond
Cemeteries
There are more than # burial grounds in the county. To view a list, see Allendale County, South Carolina Cemeteries.
Census
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1920 | 16,098 | — |
| 1930 | 13,294 | −17.4% |
| 1940 | 13,040 | −1.9% |
| 1950 | 11,773 | −9.7% |
| 1960 | 11,362 | −3.5% |
| 1970 | 9,692 | −14.7% |
| 1980 | 10,700 | 10.4% |
| 1990 | 11,722 | 9.6% |
| 2000 | 11,211 | −4.4% |
| Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. | ||
See South Carolina Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
Church
The Inventory of (SC) Church Archives 1937-1939 is available for free online, courtesy: South Caroliniana Library. Allendale County's W.P.A. reports are included.
Allendale County Churches identifies dozens of churches in the area, courtesy: South Carolina Genealogical Society.
Court
Genealogy
It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
General
As of August 2010, a query for persons born in Allendale, South Carolina at World Connect, results in more than 700 entries.
Surname indexes to Leonardo Andrea's Files | Folders | Resources are available online, courtesy: The Andrea Files: South Carolina Genealogical Research.
Learn more.
Message Boards
- Allendale County, SC Family History and Genealogy Message Board (Ancestry)
- Allendale County, SC Genealogy Forum (GenForum)
Bibliography
Land
Because of South Carolina’s history as an agricultural state many residents owned land. For more information about types of land records see South Carolina Land and Property.
Tracing records through South Carolina county and district changes can be difficult. In general, for earliest records begin by searching the Charleston District, then your ancestor’s residential district, then neighboring districts, then the residential county, then neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. The following chart show where you may best expect to find land records for Allendale County:
| Date | Government Office |
| 1919-Present | Allendale County |
| 1868-1871 | Barnwell County |
| 1800-1868 | Barnwell District |
| 1791-1799 | Records Lost* |
| 1786-1791 | Winton County" |
| 1769-1786 | Records Lost"* |
| 1719-1769 | Charleston District |
| 1710-1719 | Proprietary Land Grants |
*Orangeburg District records destroyed by fire
| Date | Government Office |
| 1919-present | Allendale County |
| 1878-1919 | Hampton County |
| 1868-1878 | Beaufort County |
| 1865-1868 | Beaufort District |
| 1769-1865 | Beaufort District Records Lost |
| 1710-1769 | Charleston District |
| 1670-1710 | Proprietary Land Grants |
Plats For State Land Grants 1784-1868
- Plats For State Land Grants 1784-1868 For information about the State Land Grants, see State Land Grants
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Civil War, 1861-1865
Allendale County was created after the Civil War in 1919 from Barnwell and Hampton counties. During the Civil War, men from the area of Allendale County would have served in various regiments recruited in those counties. Counties were called districts during the Civil War.
Newspapers
Historic
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Allendale County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.
- Allendale County Citizen (Allendale, S.C.) 1919-1981.
- Allendale County Citizen Leader (Allendale, S.C.) 1981-current.
- The Allendale County News Leader (Allendale, S.C.) 1980-1981.
- The Allendale Enterprise (Allendale, Barnwell Co., S.C.) 1889-1892.
- The Allendale Pen and Press (Allendale, S.C.) 1897-1899.
- The County News (Allendale, S.C.) 1943-1969.
- The Fairfax Citizen (Fairfax, S.C.) 1917-1919.
- The Fairfax Enterprise (Fairfax, Barnwell Co., S.C.) 1892-1908.
Current
Periodicals
Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For this county, see:
Probate
Probate is the “court procedure by which a will is proved to be valid or invalid” and encompasses “all matters and proceedings pertaining to the administration of estates, guardianships, etc.”[6] Various types of records are created throughout the probate process. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina.
Taxation
Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, relationships, and the year an individual died or left the area. They can be used as substitutes for missing or destroyed land and census records.
- South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Allendale County.
Vital Records
Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records. Substitute records, when available, are used to obtain this information. These substitute records including newspapers, court records have been added to this section, when applicable.
Birth
State-wide birth registration began in 1915. For a copy of a birth from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. The Allendale County Health Department also has copies but they provide only an abbreviated form with limited information. For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Marriage
In South Carolina, marriage licenses were not required by local governments until 1 July 1911. However, in the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Not all churches recorded these marriages and some have not survived. See South Carolina Vital Records for more information.
The Allendale County probate court holds marriage licenses issued from 1 July 1911 to the present. Statewide registration of marriages began in July 1950 and the South Carolina Division of Vital Records has copies of licenses issued after 1 July 1950 through November 2009.
Newspapers are used as a substitute to locate marriage information. See South Carolina Newspapers.
Marriages - Indexes
- There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found in some counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Death
State-wide death registration began in 1915. For a copy of the death certificates from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. The Allendale County Health Department only has copies for deaths occurring in the last 5 years. For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Deaths - Indexes and Records
- 1914-1960 - State-wide South Carolina Death Indexes. There are several online death indexes covering all of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Allendale County South Carolina Genealogy Archives, Libraries, and Museums
- Allendale County Library
Address:
P.O. Box 280
158 McNair Street
Allendale, SC 29810-0280
Telephone: (803)584-2371
Library hours: Monday - Thursday 9:00am - 6:00pm, Friday 9:00am - 5:00pm
The Allendale County Library has a local history collection. It is part of the Allendale, Hampton, Jasper Regional Library System. The 5 participating libraries share a catalog and other functions and resources.
Allendale County South Carolina Societies - Genealogical, Historical, Lineage
Family History Centers
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Family History Centers in South Carolina
Allendale County South Carolina Genealogy Websites
- Allendale County, SCGenWeb
- Family History Library Catalog
- Allendale County, South Carolina Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
Allendale County South Carolina Genealogy References
- ↑ Workers of the Writers' Program of the Works Projects Administration in the State of South Carolina, Palmetto Place Names (The Reprint Company: Spartanburg, S.C., 1975) 11.
- ↑ South Carolina State Library, "Allendale County" (http://www.statelibrary.sc.gov/allendale-county : accessed 13 Apr 2011).
- ↑ Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
- ↑ Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
- ↑ Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
- ↑ Henry Campbell Black, Black's Law Dictionary, 5th ed. (St. Paul, Minnesota: West Publishing Co., 1979), 1081, "probate."
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 12 March 2013, at 23:29.
- This page has been accessed 2,728 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



