Allendale St Peter, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Allendale St Peter, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Allendale St Peter, Northumberland
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tindale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Hexham PLU
Registration District Hexham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1807
Bishop's Transcripts: 1793
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hexham
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of York in Hexham and Hexhamshire
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Created as a chapelry in the parish of Allendale and no longer used for ecclesiastical purposes. Allendale, St Peter in the Forest (or Allenheads, St Peter), located about four miles south of Allendale Town in thehamlet of Sparty Lea, is now a private house. The present building, dated 1825, replaced an earlier structure of 1701. There is a large churchyard at the rear of the building.[1]

Additional information: Within the parish also are four chapels, in the gift of the incumbent of Allendale, viz. St. Peter's, rebuilt in 1825, a perpetual curacy, of which the net income is £120; the chapel at Nine-Banks, partially rebuilt about 1816, a perpetual curacy, with an income of £124; the chapel at the Carr Shield, or West Allen High chapel, built in 1822, also a perpetual curacy, of which the income is £109; and that of Allenheads.... From: 'Alfrick - Allerston.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/4 Date: 1838-1852
Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records which has not yet loaded the images for these transcripts. Future engineering of the whole image collection will include loading the images.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Allendale, St Peter in the Forest and Allenheads: Records of baptisms 1785-1952, marriages 1828-1950 and burials 1785-1959 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. Bishops' Transcripts for the periods 1792-1837, 1839 and 1840 are deposited at the Borthwick Institute University of York, and those for 1838 and 1841-1852 are deposited at Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections, Palace Green, Durham City. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1785-1875 and marriages 1823-1876 for this parish but it is not included in Boyd's Marriage Index. A transcript of burials 1762-1825 is available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept. For earlier entries see Allendale, St Cuthbert.

This parish Bishop's Transcripts are in two collections due to the transfer in 1838 from the Diocese of York to the Diocese of Durham of ecclesiastical jurisdiction.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438894.

Poor Law Unions

Hexham Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 31 July 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 May 2014, at 21:10.
  • This page has been accessed 933 times.