Allensmore, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Allensmore, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Allensmore, Herefordshire
Allensmore St+Andrew Herefordshire.JPG
Allensmore St+Andrew Herefordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Webtree
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Hereford PLU
Registration District Hereford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1698
Bishop's Transcripts: 1663
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hereford
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Dean of Hereford
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History


ALLENSMORE (St. Andrew), a parish, in the hundred of Webtree, union and county of Hereford, 4 miles (S. W.) from Hereford. The parish is intersected by the road from Hereford to Monmouth. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census returns for Allensmore 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition, FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that genenerally charge for subscriptions.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Hereford Poor Law Union, Herefordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Allensmore

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 34-37. Date accessed: 16 May 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 December 2014, at 14:36.
  • This page has been accessed 1,771 times.