Allerthorpe, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png East Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Allerthorpe

Contents

Parish History

ALLERTHORPE, a parish, in the union of Pocklington, Wilton-Beacon division of the wapentake of Harthill, E. riding of York containing the townships of Allerthorpe and Waplington. On the east the parish is bounded by the Pocklington canal, and it is also contiguous to the road between York and Market-Weighton. In the church is a very fine font.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Allerthorpe, Yorkshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
Allerthorpe, Yorkshire PARISH Online Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1825-1901 1825-1901
NBI

1828-1836

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1616.

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 37-39. Adapted. Accessed November 1, 2013.
  2. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 13 October 2014.
  3. 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (East Riding) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 17 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:01.
  • This page has been accessed 847 times.