Allerton, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Allerton

Guide to Allerton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

ALLERTON, a township, in the ecclesiastical district of Wilsden, parish and union of Bradford, wapentake of Morley, W. riding of York, 4 miles (W. N. W.) from Bradford; containing 1914 inhabitants. There are places of worship for General Baptists, Independents, and Wesleyans. [1]

Also

CHAPEL-ALLERTON, or Chapeltown, a chapelry, in the parish of St. Peter, liberty of Leeds, W.riding of York, 2 miles (N. by E.) from Leeds, on the road to Harrogate; comprehending the villages of Chapeltown, Meanwood, Gledhow, and Moor-Allerton; and containing 2580 inhabitants. There is a place of worship for a congregation of Wesleyans.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records
Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of St. Peter exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = http://www.ancestry.com/ (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
ALLERTON CHAPELRY (1811) Online Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS None 1811, 1844-1846, 1861 1812, 1817-1818, 1821-1930
JOIN None None None
AC None None None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Allerton and comprising the whole ancient parish of St. Peter to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the St. Peter page.

Non-conformist churches

A Wesleyan Methodist chapel stood in this township as well. Registers for the year 1835-1837 only are available through FamilySearch.org's online catalog.

Neighboring Parishes

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options, and click on List contiguous parishes.

The GENUKI: Church Database is also helpful in determining the names of the churches in the area. By typing the name of the parish, a list will show the names and denominations of other churches in a selected radius.

Census records

 

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464268.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 37-39. Date accessed: 11 January 2014.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 545-549. Date accessed: 21 March 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 1,136 times.