Allington, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngKent  Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Allington, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Allington, Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Larkfield
County Kent
Poor Law Union Malling PLU
Registration District Malling
Records begin
Parish registers: 1630
Bishop's Transcripts: 1718
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Malling
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Prerogative Court of the Archbishop of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office


Contents

Parish History

ALLINGTON (St. Lawrence), a parish, in the union of Malling, hundred of Larkfield, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 1¾ mile (N. N. W.) from Maidstone. [1]

Allington is part of Maidstone in Kent, see Allington Wikipedia.

Allington St Lawrence was an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Rochester although it functioned largely as a chaplery on the road to Allington Castle and was infamous for the 17th and 18th century practice of illegal marriage without banns.

The church was demolished after closure in 1969 being declared redundant in 1971 and the modern church of St Nicholas built on the site.The parish of Allington St. Nicholas with Maidstone St. Peter parish boundary map is available at A church near you

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 4 (1798), pp. 448-454 at British History Online for account of the early church and Kent Churches website for an image of the older church.

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was from 1837 in the Malling registration district

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Allington, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
Allington, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1630-1876
1640-1877; 1777-1919 (Banns)
1633-1876
FS BTs 1719-1850 1719-1850 1719-1850
IGI 1630-1875 1630-1877

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Land Tax

Images for Aldington, Hurst, Newington and West Hythe are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288840.



Poor Law Unions

Malling Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Allington on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 37-39. Date accessed: 17 June 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish banns', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  5. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  6. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 September 2014, at 16:27.
  • This page has been accessed 2,632 times.