Alnmouth, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png NorthumberlandGotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Alnmouth, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Alnmouth, Northumberland
St John Alnmouth Northumberland.JPG
St John Alnmouth Northumberland
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bambrough
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Alnwick PLU
Registration District Alnwick
Records begin
Parish registers: 1877; For records see Lesbury
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Alnwick
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ALNMOUTH, or Alemouth, a small sea-port, and a township, in the parish of Lesbury, union of Alnwick, S. division of Bambrough ward, N. division of Northumberland, 5¼ miles (E. S. E.) from Alnwick; . There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Parish registers 1877-1980 are deposited with Northumberland Collections Service ref EP 174

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Poor Law Union

Alnwick Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438884.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed 31 July 2013.

Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

External links

http://www.alnmouth.org.uk/Church/2.htm for early church history of Alnmouth

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:19.
  • This page has been accessed 1,084 times.