Hautes-AlpesEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Alpes (Hautes))

France Gotoarrow.png Hautes-Alpes

108px-Blason05-Hautes-Alpes svg.png

Contents

Prefecture

(add address here)

History

Hautes-Alpes is a department in the southeastern part of France. It's name comes from the Alps mountain range where it is located. It is one of the original departments created during the French Revolution.

Historic Province

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Hautes-Alpes is one of the original 83 Departments, it consists of the former province Dauphiné and the north of Provence.  With only 177 communes it is very sparse populated.

The Hautes-Alpes are divided into 2 Arrondissements (districts) Gap and Briançon and 30 cantons:

  • Briançon: Aiguilles, Briançon-Nord, Briançon-Sud, Guillestre, L'Argentière-la-Bessée, La Grave and Monêtier-les-Bains.
  • Gap: d’Aspres-sur-Buëch, Barcillonnette, Chorges, Embrun, Gap-Campagne, Gap-Centre, Gap-Nord-Est,
    Gap-Nord-Ouest, Gap-Sud-Est, Gap-Sud-Ouest, La Bâtie-Neuve, Laragne-Montéglin, Orcières, Orpierre,
    Ribiers, Rosans, Saint-Bonnet-en-Champsaur, Saint-Étienne-en-Dévoluy, Saint-Firmin, Savines-le-Lac,
    Serres, Tallard and Veynes.

Populated Places

Neighboring Departments

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

Church

To search for online copies of parish registers and civil registration, go to http://www.archives05.fr/arkotheque/etat_civil/index.php

Civil Registration

To search for online copies of parish registers and civil registration, go to http://www.archives05.fr/arkotheque/etat_civil/index.php

Court

Land

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Newspapers

Probate

Taxation

Societies and Libraries

The Archive of the Department of Hautes Alpes has put the following records online:

  • Church Records
  • Cvil Registers
  • Cadastral Maps
  • Census Records
  • Conscription Records
  • Maps, Pictures

This link http://www.agha.fr/sommaire.html allows you to search in several databases provided by the genealogical association of Hautes Alpes

  • Association Généalogique des Hautes-Alpes Archives départementales Route de Rambaud 05000 GAP
  • Centre Généalogique du Dauphiné 12 boulevard du Maréchal-Lyautey BP 31 38010 GRENOBLE CEDEX 1

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 December 2012, at 04:38.
  • This page has been accessed 276 times.