Alresford, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Hampshire   Gotoarrow.png  Hampshire Parishes  Gotoarrow.png  Alresford

Guide to Alresford, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Alresford, Hampshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Fawley
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Alresford PLU
Registration District Alresford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1780
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Alresford
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of Old Alresford with New Alresford and Medstead; Post-1844 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ALRESFORD, NEW, a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the liberty of Alresford, Alton and N. divisions of the county of Southampton, 6 miles (N. E. by E.) from Winchester, and 57 (S. W. by W.) from London, on the high road to Winchester.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Alresford, Hampshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
NEW ALRESFORD PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
PRTS 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812

Mundy, Muriel.  Grave Remarks.  A transcription and index of the New Alresford Parish, facsimile of St. John the Baptist Church, also facsimile of some of the french Prisoners Graves,  burials, some from 1765 onwards, including foreigners who were Prisoners of War on Parole, mainly french.  Article in The Hampshire Family Historian no. 14, no. 1,  May 1987, pages 30-33, FHL Ref 942.27 B2h

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288790.

Genealogy

Watkin, Jeff.  The Hazelgrove Family - Butchers of Alresford for Four Generations. A picture of Hazelgrove's Shop in East Street, Alresford c.1905 with some of the family standing outside.  History of the family starting in 1832-1966.  Article to be found in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol.XII, no.4, Feb. 1986, page 227-229. Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h v.12 1985-1986.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.<br>

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 44-49
  2. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 2 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:24.
  • This page has been accessed 1,620 times.