Alston with Garrigill, CumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Cumberland go to Cumberland Parishes

Guide to Alston with Garrigill, Cumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Alston with Garrigill, Cumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Leath
County Cumberland
Poor Law Union Alston with Garrigill PLU
Registration District Alston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1700; Separate registers exist for Garrigill beginning 1699
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762; Separate records exist for Garrigill beginning 1760
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hexham
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cumberland Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

GARRIGILL, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Alston, Leath ward, E. division of Cumberland, 3 miles (E. S. E.) from Alston-Moor. The Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans have places of worship.[1]

Resources

Parish Registers

Alston parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
ALSTON PARISH (1762) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1701-1815

FREG 1762-1860 None 1762-1860 None 1762-1860 None

Garrigill parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Garrigill Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1699-1812

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/111 March 1760-1840 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at Record Search. For some Garrigill transcripts February 1784-Sept 1840 it is necessary to view the Alston transcripts. The dates of  the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Alston transcripts can be found at DDR/EA/PBT/2/8  March 1762-1840 and include the Garrigill transcripts February 1784-March 1840 see also the seperate transcripts for Garrigill referred to above.

In addition the transcripts for the Alston and Haltwhistle Friends Burial Ground register transcripts are held at DDR/EA/PBT/2/9 for 1873-1884 and include  Allendale, Alston, Edmundbyers and Haltwhistle Friends.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241283.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Date accessed and adapted 18 July 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 June 2014, at 21:47.
  • This page has been accessed 2,307 times.