Altarnun, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Altarnun, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Altarnun, Cornwall
Altarnun st nonna Cornwall.JPG
Altarnun st nonna Cornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lesnewth
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Launceston PLU
Registration District Launceston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1610
Bishop's Transcripts: 1611
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Trigg Major
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ALTERNON (St. Nunn), a parish, in the union of Launceston, hundred of Lesnewth, E. division of Cornwall, 7¾ miles (W. S. W.) from Launceston. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Altarnun (Cornish: Alternonn),St Nonna is located on the north-eastern edge of Bodmin Moor  at Ordnance Survey grid reference SX223811.

The parish of Altarnun includes the village of Fivelanes and the hamlets of Bolventor, Treween and Trewint.

The church of St Nonna is also known as the Cathedral of the Moor and is the largest Moor parishh church. It is a building largely of the 15th century in the Perpendicular style, with a tower 109 ft high. It is notable for the fine Norman font and the amount of old woodwork, including the screen, bench-ends and communion rails which date to 1684. The screen is one of the finest 15th century examples in Cornwall; it has three gates and the cornice of vines and tracery and vaulting are finely carved. The 79 bench-end carvings were executed by Robert Daye between 1510 and 1530 (Pevsner attributes them to 1524 or later) and portray a range of subjects including a Cornish piper and fiddler (Daye's name is given on one but the date is illegible). Also, one of the damaged pew ends was repaired to its former glory by the late local master joiner Douglas Edwards in the 1980s. The dedication is to Saint Non or Nonna, who was the mother of St David.

Neighbouring Parishes

St Breward, Cornwall  St Cleer, Cornwall  St Clether, Cornwall  Trewen, Cornwall Lewanick, Cornwall Blisland, CornwallSt Neot, Cornwall

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages, and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site isFree BMD

Church records

Altarnun, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4][5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[8]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[9]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[10]
Altarnun, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1611-1673

COPC 1611-1913
1679-1913
1611-1936 (gaps)
FMP 1611-1875 1611-1837 1717-1837
FREG 1611-1841
1529-1919
1611-1902
FS PRs 1610-1837 1610-1906 1610-1902
IGI 1611-1875 1610-1874
TGEN
1725-1841

Records available through the Family History Library are as follows: Church of England parish registers: 1688-1992; Church of England Chapelry of Bolventor registers 1849-1979; Church of England transcripts of parish registers and Bishop's Transcripts 1610-1837; Parish chest materials, 1729-1862. Church records for Alternon Wesleyan Methodist Church, 1846-1996.

Church records indexes for Alternon parish are also available.

Original registers are deposited at the Cornwall Record Office, County Hall, Truro TRI  3AY. These deposited original registers cover the time period 1610-1980.

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearchunder Records. Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P4.

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241262.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Launceston Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdiction by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable Web sites are:

Websites

Altarnun in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 44-49. Date accessed: 06 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  8. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 25 November 2013.
  9. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.
  10. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 22 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 August 2014, at 18:16.
  • This page has been accessed 2,909 times.