Altham, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Altham, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Altham, Lancashire
St James' Church, Altham Lancashire.jpg
St James' Parish Church
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackburn
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Burnley PLU
Registration District Burnley
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Whalley
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)

Contents

Chapelry History

ALTHAM (St. James), is a township and parochial chapelry, in the parish of Whalley, union of Burnley, Higher division of the hundred of Blackburn, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 5 miles (W.) from Burnley. The parochial chapelry comprises the townships of Altham , Clayton-le-Moors, and New and Old Accrington. The river Calder forms the northern boundary of Altham township. The chapel is dedicated to St. James. The Wesleyans have a place of worship, and there is a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Altham chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Whalley to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


ALTHAM ST JAMES Chapelry  (1518) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1518-1851 1518-1901 None
LOPC 1749-1851 1749-1900 1749-1901
LBMD None 1837-2007 None
FMP None 1598-1695 None
AC 1596-1695 1596-1695
1596-1695
FREG 1596-1695 1596-? None
WHALLEY ST MARY AND ALL SAINTS PARISH (1538) Indexes (ancient parish containing ALTHAM)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1538-1888 1539-1837 None
LOPC 1538-1601, 1605-1845, 1848-1860, 1862-1875 1539-1601, 1605-1647, 1653-1900 1538-1601, 1605-1840, 1843-1891
LBMD 1837-1937 None 1837-1937
FMP None 1539-1627 None
AC 1538-1601, 1605-1653
1538-1601, 1605-1653
1538-1601, 1605-1653
FREG 1538-1631 1539-1651 1538-?


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Altham and comprising the whole ancient parish of Whalley to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the WHALLEY PARISH page.


Altham- St James
Baptisms Transcript-1596-1696- 929.3272 A3
Burials Transcript-1596-1696- 929.3272 A3
Marriage Index-1813-1837- Rossendale Fiche A3
Marriages Transcript-1596-1696- 929.3272 A3

For original registers of above please enquire at Lancashire Record Office.

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306895.


Poor Law Unions

Burnley Poor Law Union,Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Date accessed 27 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:09.
  • This page has been accessed 5,678 times.