Altrincham, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Altrincham, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy:  parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Altrincham, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bucklow
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Altrincham PLU
Registration District Altrincham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1799
Bishop's Transcripts: 1814
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frodsham
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Altrincham (pronounced All-tringum) St. George was built as a chapel of ease to St Mary's Church, Bowdon in 1799. The tower and spire date from 1874 and the chancel from 1886.

During the medieval and post-medieval period, the township of Altrincham was part of the Bowdon parish. Before the English Reformation, the inhabitants of Sale were predominantly Catholic, but afterwards were members of the Church of England. Altrincham did not have a church until the late 18th century because of a low population density in the area. A growing population in led to the Anglican church establishing a chapel of ease in the town in 1799. Nonconformists were also present in Altrincham, Methodists set up a chapel in 1790 Baptists built one in the 1870s. Irish immigrants in the 1830s and 1840s brought Catholicism back to the area, and the first Catholic church built in Trafford was St Vincent's in 1860.

ALTRINCHAM, is a market-town and chapelry, and the head of a union, in the parish of Bowdon, the hundred of Bucklow, N. division of the county of Chester, and is 7 miles (N. by E.) from Knutsford. There are two places of worship for Methodists, and one forUnitarians.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241233.

Church Records

Bowdon, St. Mary was the ancient parish church for Altrincham. Altrincham, St. George, Church Street, was built in 1799 as a chapel to Bowdon and became a separate parish in 1860.

Altrincham parish registers registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Altrincham St George Chapelry Parish (1799) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1797-1909
  NONE
1861-1934
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT'S 1801-1900   NONE
1808-1808
  NONE
1800-1849
  NONE

Sale registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

SALE Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1886-1906
1857-1906


Broadheath St Albert Chapelry online registers:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Broadheath St Albert Chapelry Parish (1911) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1896-1909
  NONE
1911-1934
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT'S    NONE   NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

Registers of Baptisms 1799–1997, Marriages 1861–1972 and Burials 1800–1974 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office CRO Call numbers: P132/2721/1-4, 10; P132/2/5-6, P132/3/3-5, P132/5/2.

Here is a list of church records on microfilm at theFamily History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Parish Register: St George Altrincham
FHL Film
Burials, 1799-1812. Baptisms, 1799-Apr. 1861. 1655301 Items 9 - 11
Baptisms, Nov. 1860-May 1907. Marriages, 1861- Oct. 1909. 1655302
Marriages, Oct. 1909-June 1913. Burials 1813-May 1926. Churchwardens' accounts & vestry minutes, 1800-1845, 1875-1918.  Church rates, 1862. 1655303 Items 1 - 7
Graves list, 1870-1915.  Baptisms, 1907-1920.  Marriages, 1913 - July 1920. 2093489 Items 14 - 16
Marriages, July 1920-1927. 2093490 Item 1
Baptisms, 1920-1938.  Marriages, 1927-1951. 2262787 Items 4 - 6

Bishop's transcripts for St. George's Church in Altrincham, 

Bishop's Transcripts: St George Altrincham
Film
Baptisms and burials, 1814-1898. 1595460 Item 2 1595461 Item 1

Altrincham, St. John the Evangelist, was built in 1866 as a chapel to St George and was created a parish church the following year to serve parts of Altrincham, Dunham Massey and Timperley. Registers of Baptisms 1866–1949 and marriages 1867–1984 have been deposited at the[http://www.ukbmd.org.uk/genuki/chs/altrincham.html Cheshire Record ]Office (no burials here). CRO Call numbers: P266/3504/1-2; P266/3854/2; P266/7/1; P266/2/6; P266/6403.

Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Parish Registers: St John's Church, Altrincham
FHL Film
Baptisms, 1866 - Sept. 1892. 1655303 Items 8 - 10
Baptisms, Sept. 1892-1900. Marriages, 1867-1905. Banns, 1867-1901. Churchwardens' accounts, 1866 - May 1881. 1655304
Churchwardens' accounts, May 1881-1911. 1655305 Item 1
Baptisms, 1900-1937. Marriages, 1905-June 1925. 2068973 Items 2 - 7
Marriages, June 1925-1940. 2069042 Items 1 - 2
Marriages, 1941-1961. 2262788 Item 1
Baptisms, 1949-1997. Church's newsletters, 1937-1938, 1958, 1964, 1966, 1980-1982, 1984. 2356794 Item 3
Church newsletter clips, 1913, 1964-1969, 1993. 2356795 Item 1

Bishop's transcripts for St. John's Church in Altrincham, 1867-1900. Cheshire Record Office: EDB 6

Bishops Transcripts: St. John's Church in Altrincham Film
Baptisms, 1866-1900.
1595461 Item 2
Baptisms, 1866-1895 (another filming).
1656807 Item 10
Baptisms, 1894-1900 (another filming).
1656808 Item 1

Broadheath, St. Alban, Manchester Road/Linsdell Road, was built in 1890 as a chapel to St. George, becoming the parish church for the Broadheath area in 1911. Registers of Baptisms 1896–1910 and Marriages 1911–68 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office CRO Call number: P242/1/1, P242/2/1-5, P242/4/1.

Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Parish Register: Broadheath Chapelry
FHL Film
Baptisms, 1896-1899. 2298979 Item 3
Baptisms, 1899-1910. Marriages, 1911-1955. 2186840 Items 6 - 11

Non-Conformist Churches

Here is a list of nonconformist churches in Altrincham with information about records when known:

  • Altrincham, St. Vincent de Paul (Roman Catholic), Bentlinck Road, was opened in 1904, replacing an earlier building in New Street (founded 1847). Registers of baptisms 1847–1944, marriages 1859–1955 and burials 1858–1992 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Altrincham, St. Hugh of Lincoln (Roman Catholic), Manchester Road, was built in 1930.
  • Altrincham, St. John the Baptist (Roman Catholic), Thorley Lane. Built in 1957.
  • Broadheath, Holy Angels (Roman Catholic). Built in 1958.
  • Altrincham, Baptist Chapel, Hale Road. Founded 1887.
  • Altrincham, Baptist Chapel, Railway Street.
  • Altrincham, Bible Christian Chapel, George Street.
  • Altrincham, Christian Brethren Chapel, Lloyd Street.
  • Altrincham, Methodist Chapel (New Connexion), George Street. Founded 1817. Registers 1819–1837 are at the Record Office.
  • Altrincham, Methodist Chapel (Primitive), Devonshire Road.
  • Altrincham, Methodist Chapel (Primitive), Oxford Road. Built in 1858. Registers of baptisms 1882–1957 and marriages 1909–1959 are at Manchester Central Library.
  • Altrincham, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), Chapel Walk. Built in 1795. Registers 1796–1837 are at the Record Office.
  • Altrincham, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), Woodlands Road/Bank Street. Built in 1866. Registers of baptisms 1869–1891 are at Manchester Central Library.
  • Broadheath, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), Manchester Road. Built in 1899.
  • Altrincham, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), Borough Road.
  • Altrincham, Salvation Army Mission, Shaws Lane.
  • Altrincham, Unitarian Chapel, Dunham Road. ReBuilt in 1876.
  • Altrincham, United Reformed Church (Independent/Congregational), Oxford Road.
  • Altrincham, United Reformed Church (Independent/Congregational), Ashley Road. Built in 1899.
  • Bowdon Downs, United Reformed Church (Independent/Congregational). Founded 1839. Registers of baptisms 1840–1969 and marriages 1849–1972 are at Manchester Central Library.
  • Broadheath, United Reformed Church (Independent/Congregational), Navigation Road/Manchester Road. Built in 1865.
  • Altrincham, Welsh Calvanistic, Willow Tree Road. Built in 1903.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  •  Altrincham (1837–98)
  •  Bucklow (1898–1974)
  •  Trafford (1974+)

Poor Law Unions

The New Poor Law (a civil rather than ecclesiastical system for the care of the poor) was passed in 1834, and Poor Law Unions were established, each including several parishes.  Here are the Poor Law Unions Altrincham was a part of and the inclusion dates:

  • Altrincham (1836–95)
  • Bucklow (1895–1930)

The Altrincham Union was renamed Bucklow Altrincham (renamed Bucklow) Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish. Before 1858, Altrincham, and the rest of Cheshire, was under the probate jurisdiction of the Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory). See that court's article for information about records.

See also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

To read a gazetteer description for Altrincham, go to Vision of Britain.

Websites

Altrincham on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 44-49. Date accessed: 8 Nov 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.

See the Altrincham town web site for more history and other information.

Bibliography

  • Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971]. The Buildings of England: Cheshire. New Haven and London: Yale University Press. p. 59. ISBN 0 300 09588 0.
  • Morant, Roland W. (1989), Cheshire Churches, Birkenhead:
  • Countyvise, p. 95,ISBN 0 907768 18 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 19:23.
  • This page has been accessed 6,614 times.