Alveley, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Shropshire Gotoarrow.png  Shropshire Parishes

Guide to Alveley, Shropshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Alveley, Shropshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stottesden
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Bridgnorth PLU
Registration District Bridgnorth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1636
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridgnorth
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Royal Peculiar of Bridgnorth
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ALVELEY (St. Mary), a parish, partly within the liberty of the borough of Bridgnorth, but chiefly in the hundred of Stottesden, union of Bridgnorth, S. division of Shropshire, 6½ miles (S. S. E.) from Bridgnorth; containing, with Nordley-Regis township, and Romsley liberty in the borough of Bridgnorth. Alveley was one of the five prebends in the royal free chapel of the castle of Bridgnorth.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Alveley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)
FMP = Shropshire Records (FindMyPast) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
HIST = Alveley Historical Society - free
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
ALVELEY PARISH (1561) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1615-1750

FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
HIST 1561-1812
1561-1812
1561-1812
JOIN
1561-1812

Alveley Parish Registers and Bishop's Transcripts held at the Family History Library

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap1813-1837 Marr 1813-1837 Bur 1813-1837

Transcripts of Alveley St. Mary's Parish Registers are available online at Alveley Historical Society

Parish Chest records held at the Family History Library:

  • Poor Law papers 1535-1702
  • Apprenticeships, Settlement certificates, Bastardy papers, etc. 1621-1828
  • Overseers' accounts 1763-1767; 1818-1836
  • Vestry minutes 1834-1861
  • Survey and terrier 1809-1827
  • Valuation & survey 1838


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474589.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SAL/Alveley/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 49-53. Date accessed: 30 April 2012.
  2. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Banns 1760-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  6. 'Shropshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 August 2014, at 15:15.
  • This page has been accessed 1,376 times.