Alverthorpe, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Alverthorpe, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Alverthorpe, Yorkshire Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Wakefield PLU|
|Parish registers: 1825|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1825|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
ALVERTHORPE, a township, comprising the ecclesiastical districts of Alverthorpe and Thornes, in the parish and union of Wakefield, Lower division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, W. riding of York, 1½ mile (W. N. W.) from Wakefield; containing 5930 inhabitants. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. 
ALVERTHORPE, a village, a township, a chapelry, and a sub-district in Wakefield parish, W. R. Yorkshire. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Wakefield exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|ALVERTHORPE CHAPELRY (1818) Online Records|
|| 1818, 1826-1936
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Alverthorpe and comprising the whole ancient parish of Wakefield to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Wakefield page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464241.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 49-53. Date accessed: 10 January 2014.
- ↑ John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. 1870-1872.Date accessed: 10th January 2014
- ↑ 'West Yorkshire, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1910,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.
- ↑ 'West Yorkshire, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1935,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.
- ↑ 'West Yorkshire, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1985,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.
- ↑ 'Yorkshire West Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 27 October 2014.
- This page was last modified on 17 January 2015, at 16:23.
- This page has been accessed 2,679 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More