Alveston, GloucestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Alveston, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Alveston, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Langley and Swinehead
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Thornbury PLU
Registration District Thornbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1742
Bishop's Transcripts: 1674
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bristol
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bristol (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ALVESTON (St. Helen), a parish, in the union of Thornbury, partly in the Lower, but chiefly in the Upper, division of the hundred of Langley and Swinehead, W. division of the county of Gloucester,1 mile (S. by E.) from Thornbury. This parish lies on the road from Bristol to Birmingham.There is a place of worship for a congregation of Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) (£)[2]
ALVESTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD 1767-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288773.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference 

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 49-53. Date accessed: 09 April 2013.
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:36.
  • This page has been accessed 1,103 times.