Alveston, Warwickshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Alveston, Warwickshire)

England Gotoarrow.png WarwickshireGotoarrow.png Warwickshire Parishes

Alveston, Warwickshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Barlichway
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Stratford on Avon PLU
Registration District Stratford on Avon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kineton
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1851 - Court of the Peculiar of Hampton Lucy; Post-1850 - Court of the Bishop of Worcester
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Alveston, is a village and a parish in Stratford on Avon district, Warwickshire. The village is  2¼ miles ENE of Stratford-on-Avon railway station; the post office is under Stratford-on-Avon. The parish contains  the village of Tiddington.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Alveston, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[2][3]
Alveston, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812
AC 1813-1910 1813-1910

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464168.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted. Date accessed : 12 October, 2013
  2. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 13 June 2014.
  3. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

England Gotoarrow.png Alveston, Warwickshire Genealogy

Guide to Alveston, Warwickshire Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Warwickshire, Warks or Warwicks, is an inland county located in the mid-section of England.
England-warwickshire.png

Jurisdictions

Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Warwickshire.

Civil Districts

When civil registration of births, marriages and deaths began in 1837, Warwickshire was divided into a number of registration districts, each containing several parishes.  The index to the civil records gives the name of the district where an event took place.  Click here to see a list of the civil districts in Warwickshire and the parishes covered by each.  Read more about England Civil Registration.

Parishes

See a list of the parishes of Warwickshire with links to articles.

Probate Jurisdictions

Before 1858, every town and parish in Warwickshire was under the probate jurisdiction of several ecclesiastical courts.  To read more about probate records and see a list of Warwickshire towns and parishes and the probate courts that had jurisdiction over them, go to Warwickshire Probate Records.

Websites

To view a list of web sites and/or web pages for Warwickshire and many of its parishes, visit FHLFavorites.info.

www.warwickshire.gov.uk: Warwickshire County Council. Iincludes: Calendars of Prisoners, 1800-1900, Tithe Apportionments, Victuallers, etc. 

archivesunlocked.warwickshire.gov.uk: Warwickshire Record Office Catalogue

Familyseach.org: Online Warwickshire Parish Registers, 1538-1900

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

England Warwickshire Church of England Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records)

thegenealogist.co.uk: Subscription website but free access in LDS Family History Centers: includes a few directories, school registers, and land owners in 1873.

Links to articles, subcategories and images under the Category Alveston, Warwickshire Genealogy


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 May 2015, at 20:40.
  • This page has been accessed 1,796 times.