Alwinton with Holystone, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Alwinton with Holystone, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Alwinton with Holystone, Northumberland
Church of St Michael and All Angels, Lower Alwinton.jpg
Church of St Michael and All Angels, Lower Alwinton
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Coquetdale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Rothbury PLU
Registration District Rothbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1719
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rothbury
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Alwinton like this:

ALLENTON, or Alwinton, a township and a parish in Rothbury district, Northumberland. The township lies on the Coquet river, at the influx of the rivulet Allen or Alwin, 13 miles NNW of Scots Gap r. station, and 19 WSW of Alnwick. The parish contains also the townships of Farnham, Sharperton, Peals, Clennel, Burrowden, Biddlestone, Linbridge, Fair hangh, Netherton-North-Side, and Netherton-South Side. Post Town, Harbottle, under Morpeth. The property, together with that of Holystone, is held chiefly by two proprietors. Much of the surface is moor and hill, rising toward the Central Cheviots.[1]

Additional information:

Alwinton St Michael and All Angels with Holystone is an ancient parish. Other places in the parish include: Barrow, Sharperton, Biddlestone, Borrowden, Borrowdon, Burradon, Burrowden, Clenel, Clennel, Clennell, Dues Hill, Dueshill, Fairhaugh, Farnham, Hallystone, Harbottle, Holystone, Linbridge, Linbrig, Linbriggs, Linsheeles, Linshields, Linshiels, Netherton North Side, Netherton South Side, Peals, Peels, and Biddleston.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Alwinton and Holystone  DDR/EA/PBT/2/10 Date: March 1762-1876
 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Alwinton, St Michael and All Angels; Records of baptisms 1691-1930, marriages 1719-1984 and burials 1719-1992 are available at Northumberland Collections Service.  The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1694-1812, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1715-1812. Transcripts of baptisms 1720-1812, marriages and burials 1719-1812, baptisms of dissenters 1696-1836 and banns 1772-1808 are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept.

Holystone, St Mary the Virgin: Records of baptisms 1815-1991, marriages 1837-1991 and burials 1815-1992 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. Bishops' Transcripts for the period up to 1876 are included with those of Alwinton and are deposited at Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections, Palace Green, Durham City. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Holystone Chapel (microfiche TN78) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438890.

Poor Law Unions

Rothbury Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. John M. Wilson,Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Date accessed 31 July 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 May 2014, at 19:26.
  • This page has been accessed 995 times.