Amberley, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Amberley, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Amberley, Herefordshire
Amberley+Chapel Herefordshire.JPG
Amberley+Chapel Herefordshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxash
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Hereford PLU
Registration District Hereford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1742; For more records see Marden
Bishop's Transcripts: For more records see Marden
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hereford
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Dean of Hereford
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

AMBERLEY, a chapelry, in the parish of Marden, hundred of Broxash, union and county of Hereford, 5¾ miles (N. N. E.) from Hereford.[1]

Amberley chapel was formed as a chapelry of Marden, Herefordshire Ancient Parish. For further details including a map of Marden parish boundary including the location of the chapel, see A church near you
[1]

It was the private chapel to Amberley Court, and was restored in 1865 and has been designated as a grade II* listed building [2]

The architecture of the chapel is described in the Corpus of Romanesque Architecture, Amberley Chapel. [3]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church record

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Amberley

In view of the private chapel function it is necessary to refer to the Marden, Herefordshire parish registers reference AJ20

The Diocesan Record Office for Herefordshire has deposited Parish registers and Bishop's transcripts for that parish

Herefordshire Archive Service
Herefordshire Record Office
Harold Street
Hereford
HR1 2QX

Office Tel No: +44 (0)1432 260750
Email: archives@herefordshire.gov.uk

It is noteworthy that the chapel had a burial ground and that at reference  AO16/13 1978 Licence authorising the solemnization of marriages in Amberley Chapel is found in the Marden parish records held at Harold Street.

Census records

See Herefordshire Census The Family History Library appears to have no microfilm collection for Amberley.

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Hereford Poor Law Union, Herefordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/HEF/Amberley/index.html

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 49-53. Date accessed: 12 June 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:24.
  • This page has been accessed 1,742 times.