American Fork, UtahEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to Utah go to Utah County go to American Fork

Guide to American Fork, Utah ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

American Fork Utah City Hall.jpeg


Quick History

American Fork, Utah was initially settled by Mormon Pioneers in 1850 and was incorporated as Lake City two years later. The name changed to American Fork a decade later.

The rich lowland fields were quickly planted with crops to support the ever growing population. Within a short time the area became famous for its production of Utah Celery and sugar beets.

Significant growth occurred in the city during the late 1980's through the first years of the 21st century resulting in a population of approximately 30,000 residents today.

Wikipedia has more about this subject: American Fork, Utah

Vital Records

Many experts recommend starting your research with the death records first. A first thought might be to begin instead with birth records, but the death record is the most recent record. It may be more likely to be available to you. Death records are kept in the state where your ancestor died, not where they were buried. However these records can provide a burial location. Death records are especially helpful because they may provide important information on a person's birth, spouse, and parents. Some researchers look first for death records because there are often death records for persons who have no birth or marriage records.

Death records are frequently considered as primary source records for the death and burial dates, locations and cause of death. They are secondary sources for birth information unless the birth occurred within days of the death.

Utah requires a death certificate before a burial is completed. A death certificate may contain information as to the name of the deceased,date of death and place of death, as well as the age, birth date, parents, gender, marital status, spouse and place of residence.

  • Utah Death Certificates Index 1904-1956- A free internet access to the death cerificates can be viewed at FamilySearch Catalog

Birth and Marriage Records

Utah Census Records




Amercian Fork Utah City Cemetery
American Fork Utah City Cemetery.jpg

American Fork Cemetery
100 East 650 North
American Fork, Utah, 84003







Church History and Records

Main article: American Fork, Utah LDS Wards and Branches


  1. Shelley, George F.; Early history of American Fork, with some history of a later day FHL 979.224/A1 H2
  2. Provo City and Utah County Directory : including the cities of Provo, American Fork, Lehi, Payson, Spanish Fork, and Springville FHL 979.224/P1 E4p


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 August 2015, at 18:38.
  • This page has been accessed 6,444 times.