American Samoa GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from American Samoa)
News & Events
If you are interested in being the moderator for American Samoa, Please contact the Support Team.
Pacific Gotoarrow.png Pacific Island Guide Gotoarrow.png Polynesia Gotoarrow.png Samoa (Western and American) Gotoarrow.png United States Gotoarrow.png American Samoa

Guide to American Samoa ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Ofu Beach NPS.jpg
American Samoa flag.png

Six Polynesian Islands

American Samoa is a group of Polynesian islands in the South Pacific. Fourteen degrees below the equator, it is the United States' southern-most territory. It is known as the heart of Polynesia. If you drew a triangle from Hawaii, New Zealand and Tahiti you would find Samoa in the middle. Western Samoa is a neighboring independent country that shares the same culture. American Samoa became an unorganized U.S. territory in 1900.

The Samoans arguably represent the largest population of Polynesian people and they take pride in a strong culture that has survived outside incursions amazingly well. For more information about Samoa see Samoa (Western and American).

American Samoa is the southernmost unincorporated territory of the United States. It is west of the Cook Islands and north of Tonga and southeast of the Independent State of Samoa (formerly known as Western Samoa). Made up of a chain of five islands and two atolls, the American Samoa territory includes Tutuila, the Manu'a Islands, Rose Atoll, and Swains Island. There are more than 55,000 people living in the 76.1 square miles of American Samoa.

American Samoa is divided into three districts: Eastern, Western, and Manu'a. It also has two unorganized atolls, Swains Island and Rose Atoll (which is uninhabited). These districts and atolls are divided into 74 villages. The language is Samoan, closely related to the Hawaiian language. More than 91% of the people are native Somoans, as well as 3% Asian, 1% Caucasian, and 4% mixed. Most of these people identify as Christian (50% Christian Congregationalist, 20% Roman Catholic, 30% Protestant), and of these about one in four belong to The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

Family History Centers

Pago Pago American Samoa Central
Pago Samoa Central Stake Center
Pago Pago, American Samoa
Hours: T-F 5pm-7pm,

Pago Pago American Samoa Mapusaga
Pago Samoa Stake Center
Pago Pago, American Samoa
Hours: Tues-Fri 4-7

Pago Pago American Samoa West
Pago Samoa Stake Center
Pago Pago, American Samoa
Phone: 1-684-699-7726
Hours: Tues-Fri 3:00-6:00; Sat 7:30-2:30

Pago Pago Samoa
Pago Samoa Stake Center
Pago Pago, American Samoa
Phone: 1-684-633-2480
Hours: Tues-Sat 3-6

Featured Content

Wiki articles describing online collections are found at:

Research Tools

  • Pacific Island Guide to Family History Research (Wiki article)
  • The Cole Jensen Collection:  An important collection of compiled genealogies from Samoa is found in the Cole Jensen Collection: Oral Genealogies and Genealogical Information Collected from the Polynesian Peoples and from the Pacific Islands. These records were collected by William Cole and Elwin Jensen over a period of 50 years and microfilmed by the Genealogical Department of the LDS Church in 1984. The original collection consisted of 51 binders. The original materials no longer exist as an intact collection. However, there are nine microfilms (1358001-1358009) available at various family History centers. This collection has family group records, pedigree charts, oral genealogies, and other genealogical materials collected from the islands of Hawaii, New Zealand, Samoa, Tonga, Niue, Cook Islands, and Frenach Polynesia, including the Society, Marquesas, Austral Islands, and the Tuamotu Archipelago.  Microfilms with information from Samoa are:
  • 1358004: Samoan genealogy, Woolley Collection, Volume 1: Mata'upu , Alisa Toelupe O Maga, Selele or Aiaifua, Laula lula'a Johnson, Gafa o Frank Burgess of Neiafu Book, and Burgess in a collection from the courthouse in Pago Pago. .
  • 1358005: The entire microfilm is of the Polynesian Genealogies; Gafa Samoa from the F. Wooley Collection
  • 1358006: Samoan family group records, pedigree charts, and other misc. records with names, dtes, and places.
  • 1358007: Family pedigree charts of Polynesian families of Samoa, Hawaii, New Aealand, Tahiti, and Philipines. (the charts are not in alphabetical order).
  • 1358008: Samoan genealogy records from the Wooley Collection of Pedigree Charts and Llineages of Samoa with a 45 page index, 258 pedigree charts in alphabetical order.

FamilySearch Resources

  • The FamilySearch Wiki article on Saman (Western and American) is HERE.
  • Collectively, the Samoan records (baptisms and deaths) online thus far are HERE.
  • The Family History Library includes THIS BOOK of related genealogy directories.
  • Check out the FamilySearch American Samoa FACEBOOK PAGE!

Wiki Pages

Website Resources

  • For information (mailing address and cost) about obtaining birth, marriage, and death records from American Samoa, SEE HERE.
  • To contact the American Samoa Government in regards to vital records, SEE HERE.
  • For American Samoa death records and certificates, SEE HERE.
  • For many links and resources for American Samoa, see KINDRED TRAILS.
  • For more genealogy resources for American Samoa, see GENWEB.
  • Ancestry's American Samoa resources are HERE.
  • This blogger shares many American Samoa resources!



Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 September 2015, at 04:01.
  • This page has been accessed 12,736 times.