Amherst Parish, VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Virginia  Gotoarrow.png  Amherst Parish

Contents

History

Amherst Parish has served Amherst and Nelson counties. St. Mark's Episcopal Church in Clifford (formed 1747) belonged to this parish until 1778 when Lexington Parish was established.[1]

Founded

Resources

Cemeteries

A survey of the graves at St. Mark's Church was published in 1985: FHL Book 975.5496 V3b (pages 53-55).[3]

More than 50 tombstones from Saint Mark's Church Cemetery are also described at Find A Grave.

Parish History

Meade's 1861 history of Amherst Parishes is available online.[4]

Parish Records

Colonial parish registers have been lost.

Websites

References

  1. "St. Mark, Clifford | History of St Mark, Clifford," The Episcopal Church.
  2. Freddie Spradlin, "Parishes of Virginia," VAGenWeb, accessed 29 January 2011; Hening's Statutes at Large; Emily J. Salmon and Edward D.C. Campbell Jr., The Hornbook of Virginia History (Richmond: Library of Virginia, 1994).
  3. Mary Frances Boxley, Gravestone Inscriptions in Amherst County, Virginia (Amherst, Va., 1985).
  4. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:17.
  • This page has been accessed 3,094 times.