Amite County, MississippiEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Amite County Mississippi genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png  Mississippi Gotoarrow.png  Amite County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Mississippi
Online Records


Amite County, Mississippi
Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Amite  County
Location in the state of Mississippi
Map of the U.S. highlighting Mississippi
Location of Mississippi in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 24 February, 1809
County Seat Pittsboro
Courthouse
Amte County Mississippi Courthouse.jpg
Address Amite County Courthouse
243 W Main St;
Liberty, MS 39645-0000
Phone: 601.657.8022

Contents

County Courthouse

Amte County Mississippi Courthouse.jpg
Amite County Courthouse
243 W Main St;
Liberty, MS 39645-0000
Phone: 601.657.8022

Clerk Chancery Court has court, land and probate records from 1809. Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records. [1]
Beginning Dates for Amite County, Mississippi Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate




1809
1809

History

Parent County

1809--Amite County was created 24 February 1809 from Wilkinson County.
County seat:  Liberty [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1643-1947) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Mississippi counties see: Mississippi Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

  • LDS Cemetery Records
  • Bethel Baptist Cemetery - US Vol. 5 page 215

Census

For tips on accessing Amite County, Mississippi census records online, see: Mississippi Census.


Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

  • LDS Ward and Branch Records

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Amite County, Mississippi. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War
  • Men from Amite County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Amite County. 
- 4th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company I - Stockdale Rangers
- 7th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company C - Amite Rifles

Naturalization

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Amite County, Mississippi newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Amite County, Mississippi Clerk of Court and are housed at the Amite County, Mississippi Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Taxation

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth
Marriage
  • 1800-1900 - Amite County, Mississippi Marriages. Arranged by bride. Arranged by groom. Courtesy: MSGenWeb - free.
  • 1809-1844 - Amite County Marriage Books 1 thru 3 Index 1809-1844. Batch M516731 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1844-1873 - Amite County Marriage Books 4 thru 6 Index 1844-1873. Batch M516732 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1866-1879 - Amite County Marriage Book 7 Index 1866-1879. Batch M516733 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1879-1885 - Amite County Marriage Books 10 and 11 Index 1879-1885. Batch M516734 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1887-1892 - Amite County Marriage Books 12 and 13 Index 1887-1892. Batch M516735 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1892-1899 - Amite County Marriage Books 14 and 15 Index 1892-1899. Batch M516736 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1899-1903 - Amite County Marriage Books 16 and 17 Index 1899-1903. Batch M735104 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1903-1905 - Amite County Marriage Book 18 Index 1903-1905. Batch M735111 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1905-1910 - Amite County Marriage Books 19 and 20 Index 1905-1910. Batch M735112 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1910-1917 - Amite County Marriage Books 21 and 22 Index 1910-1917. Batch M735345 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1917-1924 - Amite County Marriage Books 23 thru 25 Index 1917-1924. Batch M735082 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1924-1928 - Amite County Marriage Books 26 and 27 Index 1924-1928. Batch M735182 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Mississippi Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Amite County, Mississippi page 378, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.00 3.01 3.02 3.03 3.04 3.05 3.06 3.07 3.08 3.09 3.10 3.11 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/c/ce/Igimississippia.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 31 March 2014, at 02:37.
  • This page has been accessed 8,638 times.