Ancoats St Andrew, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Ancoats St Andrew, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ancoats St Andrew, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Manchester
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Manchester PLU
Registration District Manchester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1900
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Manchester
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Ancoats (St Andrew) is a chapelry in the boundary of Manchester Our Lady, St George and St Denys Ancient Parish. The district church of Ancoats is in the later English style, with a tower, was erected in Travis-street. It was dedicated to St. Andrew.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

Ancoats St Andrew Chapelry and all its additional contemporary chapelries (5), possessed chapelry registers of baptisms, marriages and burials. These have been indexed or transcribed and are available online at no cost, as follows:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
ANCOATS ST ANDREWS Chapelry (1831) Indexes  
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1831-1915 1838-1930 1813-1855
FS  1827-1910 1814-1930 (incomplete) 1831-1855
LOPC 1831-1860 None None
LBMD 1837-1917 1838-1912 1837-1882 
ANCOATS ALL SOULS Chapelry (1840) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1840-1914 1846-1930
FS 1837-1908 1846-1928 None
LOPC 1840-1876  None None
LBMD 1840-1917 1846-1981 1837-1882
ANCOATS CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1822) Indexes - a dissenters chapel after 1857 
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1837-1917 None 1837-1882
ANCOATS ST JAMES THE LESS Chapelry (1867) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1867-1914 1871-1930
FS 1874-1920 - part. 1871-1930 - part. None Extant 
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1867-1917  1871-1920  1867-1882 
 ANCOATS ST JUDE Chapelry (1837) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1837-1914 1856-1930
FS 1837-1910 1856-1930  None Extant
LBMD 1837-1917 1849-1954 1837-1882
ANCOATS ST MARTIN Chapelry (1865) Indexes  
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1866-1906 1875-1906 None
LBMD 1865-1917 1874-1906 1865-1882
ANCOATS ST PETER Chapelry (1860) - see under MANCHESTER ST PETER
 

Ancoats St Andrews is one of six chapels comprising the township; and it was one of at least 150 chapels in total comprising the whole of Manchester Parish's boundary (by 1880).

The 'mother' or ancient parish of Manchester City is the Cathedral of Manchester, called Our Lady, St George and St Denys Cathedral.

MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes 

 

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1573-1872 1573-1889  None
LOPC 1573-1616;1777-1837 1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs 1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs
LBMD 1837-1881 1837-1946 1837-1881 
AC  1573-1616 1573-1616 1573-1616

If you do not locate your ancestor in the list of Ancoats chapelry links and in Manchester Cathedral links listed above, before you research in any other Lancashire parish, you must include a thorough search into all of Manchester City's attached chapelries (over 150 of them)! Unfortunately, Manchester Cathedral (the parish) is England's largest parish; thus each chapelry's baptism, marriage and burial registers (where extant) must be searched. To help you identify all of Manchester's chapelries, and then search what's online for each one of Manchester City's chapelries and district churches--view a complete list of all its chapels HERE (scroll down to "Church Records").

Non-Conformists

Roman Catholic Church of St. Joseph, Ancoats District: Baptisms 1883-1903: Courtesy of Online Parish Clerks

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438728.


Poor Law Unions

Manchester Poor Law Union


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Ancoats St Andrew in Manchester on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 221-247. Date accessed: 27 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 5,281 times.