Ancroft, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png NorthumberlandGotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Ancroft, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ancroft, Northumberland
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Islandshire
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Berwick PLU
Registration District Berwick
Records begin
Parish registers: 1742
Bishop's Transcripts: 1764
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bamburgh
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ANCROFT, a parochial chapelry, in the union of Berwick-upon-Tweed, Islandshire, N. division of Northumberland, 6 miles (S.) of Berwick.It includes the villages of Ancroft, Cheswick, Haggerston, Scremerston, and Greenses. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Records of baptisms 1742-1959, marriages 1742-1982 and burials 1742-1959 are available at Northumberland Collections Service

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/11 1764-1867 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records (formerly Record Search). References prior to 1844 refer to Ancroft as in "North Durham" North Durham references in the Durham Bishop’s Transcripts collection 1700-1900 Images for Ancroft at present may be located in both North Durham and Northumberland and stray images may be found as unknown in the images due to these reasons. It is hoped to assemble these in future after re-engineering the image collection.  The current images are incomplete for this parish and this is a known issue awaiting the collection take down and return.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241358.

Poor Law Unions

Berwick Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A. , A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 53-58. Date accessed: 17 December 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 May 2014, at 19:26.
  • This page has been accessed 1,605 times.