Anderson County, KansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Kansas Gotoarrow.png Anderson County

Guide to Anderson County, Kansas ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kansas
Online Records

Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19

Anderson County, Kansas
Map
Map of Kansas highlighting Anderson County
Location in the state of Kansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kansas
Location of Kansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded August 30, 1855
County Seat Garnett
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Anderson County Courthouse
100 E. 4th Ave.
Garnett, Kansas 66302-1595
Phone: 913.448.6841

Contents

County Courthouse


Anderson County Courthouse
100 E 4th Avenue
Garnett, KS 66032
Phone: 913.448.6841

Clerk District Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1857.
County Appraiser has land records from 1900. [1]

History

Parent County

1855--Anderson County was created 30 August 1855 as an original county. County seat: Garnett [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Name and population (2006 estimate):[10]

   Garnett, 3,280 (county seat)
Colony, 382
Greeley, 326
Kincaid, 177
Westphalia, 164
Harris, 53 (from Census 2000)
Lone Elm, 27

Unincorporated places

   Amiot
Bush City
Central City
Glenloch (Glenlock)
Mont Ida
Northcott
Scipio
Selma
Welda

Neighboring Counties

Ksanderson.jpg

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.



"FirstChristianChurch_Garnett|http://www.fccgarnett.org/]]" 

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Anderson County, Kansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.


"Garnett|AndersonCounty|Kansas" http://www.kansasmemory.org/category/3152

"AndersonCounty|kansas"http://skyways.lib.ks.us/genweb/anderson/archives.htm

"Garnett,AndersonCounty,Kansas" http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_Register_of_Historic_Places

Maps

Military


Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Anderson County, Kansas newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Anderson and click Probate records.


Taxation

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Anderson County, Kansas 248 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 December 2014, at 16:54.
  • This page has been accessed 6,315 times.