Anderson County, Texas GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Anderson County, Texas ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Anderson County, Texas|
Location in the state of Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||March 24, 1846|
|Address||500 N. Church Street,#10, Palestine, TX 75801|
|Named for: Kenneth L. Anderson, congressman and vice president of the Republic of Texas|
Beginning Dates for Anderson County, Texas
Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 (images and index) - FamilySearch
- Texas, Birth Index, 1903-1997 (index only) - FamilySearch
- Texas Birth Index 1903-1997 (images and index) - Ancestry ($)
- 1840 - 1981 Texas Births and Christenings 1840-1981 at FamilySearch.org — index
Original Birth Records on Microfilm
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- Texas Marriage Records 1966 - 2005 - Hidden Ancestors
- Texas, County Marriage Index, 1837-1977 - FamilySearch records collection
- Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 - FamilySearch record collection
- Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 - FamilySearch record collection
- Texas County Marriage Records, 1837-1977 - FamilySearch. Index to a variety of marriage records (registers, licenses, intentions to marry, etc.) from select counties in Texas.
- 1814 - 1909 and 1966 - 2011 Texas Marriage Collection 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837 - 1977 Texas Select County Marriage Index 1837-1977 at Ancestry.com — index $
Original Marriage Records on Microfilm
Online Death Indexes and Records
- Texas, Death Index, 1903-2000 (index) - FamilySearch
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
- Texas Deaths and Burials 1903 - 1973 (index) - FamilySearch
- Texas, Death Index, 1903-2000 (index) - FamilySearch
- 1903 - 1973 Texas Deaths and Burials 1903-1973 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1977 - 1986 Texas Deaths 1977-1986 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1903 - 1982 Texas Death Certificates 1903-1982 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Original Death Records on Microfilm
- Texas Divorce Records 1968 - 2005 ~ Hidden Ancestors
- 1968-2010 Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1968 - 2011 Texas Divorces 1968-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
|Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.|
- USGenWeb Census Project ~ Texas 1850 - 1930
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Online Grave Transcripts||Published Grave Transcripts||County Cemetery Directories|
|Family History Library|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Additional Cemetery Sources
- Anderson County Cemeteries Complete list of cemeteries within Anderson County with partial transcriptions.
- Texas Historic Cemeteries ~ Partial indexes to historic cemeteries
- African American Cemeteries Online ~ Partial index/transcriptions of African American cemeteries
- Cemetery Junction ~ Links to cemetery transcriptions
- Tennessee Colony Cemetery, Anderson County on BillionGraves site. Just south of FM 321 on CR 2230.
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Naturalizations and Citizenship
- 1906 - 1989 Texas, Naturalization Records, 1906-1989 — index and images
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
- Selected Wills and Probate Extracts from Anderson County ~ TXGenWeb
- Anderson County Probate Index 1846-1879 ~ TXGenWeb
- Search Tax, Criminal, Land and Wills Records ~ Ancestry.com (subscription)
Online Probate Records
- 1800 – 2000 Texas Wills and Probate Records 1800-2000 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1800-1990 - Texas, Probate Records, 1800-1990 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. This collection contains images of probate records from seventy-five different counties in the state of Texas. The content and time period of these records vary by county.
Anderson County Courthouse
500 N Church Street
Palestine, TX 75801-3024
District Clerk has divorce records; County Clerk
has birth and death records from 1903, marriage,
probate and land records from 1846 and court records;
cities have birth and death records from 1953
500 N. Church Street, #10
Palestine TX 75801
P.O. Box 1159
African American Resources
- Texas, Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1865-1870(images) - FamilySearch
- Texas African American Griots ~ USGenWeb
- AfriGeneas ~ African Ancestored Genealogy
- Texas African American Genealogy ~ Access Genealogy
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
- Anderson County Churches –List of churches in Anderson County, Texas
- Churches in Anderson County ~ TXGenWeb
- Texas Christian Church Directory ~ ChurchAngel
- Catholic Parishes in Texas
Local histories are available for Anderson County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- A Memorial and Biographical History of Navarro, Henderson, Anderson, Limestone, Freestone and Leon Counties, Texas, 1883. Digital book on line from the Portal to Texas History.
- History of Anderson County
- Texas Museums ~ List of all museums in Texas ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Historical Maps ~ From the Republic to the Turn of the Century ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the Texas Genweb site
- Confederate Pension Applications ~ Texas State Library and Archives Commission
- Military Resources ~ Links to research Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Fallen Heroes ~ Partial Index of casualties from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Honoring Our Veterans ~ Partial index of veterans from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 - FamilySearch
- Texas, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 - FamilySearch
- 1838 - 1900 Texas Muster Roll Index Cards 1838-1900 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1845 - 1848 US American Volunteer Soldiers Mexican War 1845-1848 at Ancestry.com — index $
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Anderson County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Off-line Newspaper Information
Online Newspaper Abstracts
Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form
- Anderson County Obituaries ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Obituary Resources ~ Links to research and locate obituaries ~ Hidden Ancestors
- USGenWeb Archives Obituary Project ~ Texas
- Afrigeneas ~ African American death notices, obituaries and funeral programs compiled by users from current newspapers and historical sources
- Obituary Depot ~ Texas Newspaper Citations
- Obituary Project ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Obituary Daily Times ~ Citations to over 15,000,000 obituaries including interactive search function
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Societies and Libraries
East Texas Genealogical Society
P O Box 6967
Tyler, Texas 75711-6967
Anderson County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 2045
Palestine Public Library
2000 S. Loop 256
Palestine, TX 75801
Phone: (903) 729-4121
Frankston Depot Library
Town Square S
Frankston, TX 75763
Phone: (903) 876-4463
Society Hill ~ Links and addresses to Texas genealogical and historical societies
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
The county was named for Kenneth L. Anderson, congressman and vice president of the Republic of Texas.
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
Cities and Towns
Elkhart | Frankston | Palestine (county seat)
Bois d'Arc | Bradford | Broom City | Cayuga | Montalba | Neches | Pert | Slocum | Tennessee Colony | Wild Cat Bluff
- Online Genealogy Resources Anderson County TXGenWeb genealogy resources.
- Anderson County Look-Ups Volunteers for look-up for Anderson County TXGenWeb
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Anderson County ~ TXGenWeb
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county.
- Hidden Ancestors Information on Texas genealogy research as well as genealogy research in general.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Cyndi's List ~ Texas
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Anderson County, Texas. Page 658 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- This page was last modified on 21 November 2015, at 23:16.
- This page has been accessed 32,928 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News