Andover, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Hampshire   Gotoarrow.png  Hampshire Parishes  Gotoarrow.png  Andover

Guide to Andover, Hampshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

ANDOVER (St. Mary), a borough, market-town, andparish, having exclusive jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Andover, Andover and N. divisions of the county of Southampton, 26 miles (N. by W.) from Southampton, and 64 (W. S. W.) from London; comprising the hamlets of Charlton, Hatherden, King's Enham, Little London, Smannell, Wildhern, and Woodhouse, and the chapelry of Foxcote. [1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Andover parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[5]
ANDOVER PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1588-1798, 1813-1876
1687-1770, 1813-1876

FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FS 1588-1812
1587-1812, 1856-1875

PRTS 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812

Records for Andover can be found online.  There is also an index to the Andover records at the Hampshire Record Office in Winchester.  These records were indexed some time ago and are therefore typed up and and bound books.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288810.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 58-62. Date accessed: 21 June 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 24 September 2013.
  3. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 5 October 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 20:05.
  • This page has been accessed 2,661 times.