Annaba, AlgeriaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Annaba, Algeria ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
FamilySearch Wiki is a community website dedicated to helping people throughout the world learn how to find their ancestors. Through this page you can learn how to find, use, and analyze local records of genealogical value. The content is variously targeted to beginners, intermediate, and expert researchers. This page is a work in progress, your contributions and feedback are essential!
Annaba, known as Bône during the period of French colonization, is a city in the northeastern corner of Algeria near the river Seybouse on the Mediterranean Sea. It is located in Annaba Province. With a population in 2008 of 257,359, it is the fourth largest city in Algeria, after Algiers, Oran, and Constantine. It is a leading industrial center in eastern Algeria, located on the Tunisian border. It is calledBalad Al Unnâb, ( the Jujubes city), because of the abundance of the date fruit. It was known as Hippo or Hippo Regius during antiquity and was the home of early Christians, who were involved in the canonization of the current New Testament.
Bone was occupied by Allied forces on 12 November 1942 and became important as a supply port, and for its airfield. The 70th General Hospital was there during the early months of 1943. A cemetery, five kilometers west of Annaba, contains the remains of 836 casualties from World War II. It is maintained by the Commonwealth War Graves Commission.
Algeria was a French colony from 1830 to 1962. As one of France's longest-held overseas territories, Algeria became the home for hundreds of thousands of French immigrants, known as colons and later, as pieds-noirs. The indigenous Muslims remained the majority population throughout the colonial period and, when Algeria gained its independence following the Algerian War in 1962, most pieds-noirs emigrated to France.
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help to:
- This page was last modified on 21 April 2015, at 21:42.
- This page has been accessed 1,756 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News