Annapolis County, Nova ScotiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Canada Gotoarrow.png Nova Scotia Gotoarrow.png Annapolis County

This is a guide to historical and genealogical records available for Annapolis County, Nova Scotia, primarily those after 1759 when the County was established. For a general overview of Nova Scotia history and research resources, go to Nova Scotia and www.gov.ns.ca/nsarm/


Contents

Getting Started

1.  What information do you wish to locate about your ancestor?  To choose the sources you need to search first, please click on  RECORD SELECTION TABLE: Nova_Scotia, which will help you decide.

2.  From the above Record Selection Table, which sources do you wish to check in this county?  To check the availability of your sources of interest as well as to check the websites that have them online, please click on this county's SOURCES LINKS TABLE  . 

3.  Do you know the location that you wish to search in this county?  If so, please check for some possible sources and some online information about your location of interest, by clicking on  this county's POPULATED PLACES TABLE .

4.  For further information regarding your sources of interest, see "Resources" ABOVE in the "CONTENTS" table and click on the source of interest.

Remember that you should always try to get an original copy of that source to verify information. 

Please be aware that this is a growing Pilot program, with new information being added on a regular basis.

NOTE:  If you would like to participate in contributing information into this WIKI program, please go to the "Create a New Page" section of this screen, and follow the guidelines.

WELCOME ABOARD!  More sharers of information = more information available for everyone!


History

Annapolis County was established in 1759, when Nova Scotia was divided into five counties. In 1836 and 1837, parts of Annapolis County were divided to create Yarmouth and Digby Counties.

Recommended Reference Materials
Nova Scotia Archives & Records Management has a virtual exhibit on the early settlement of Port Royal (now Annapolis) and a searchable database of "the largest and most complete online presentation of primary-source documents relating to the Deportation of the Acadians from Nova Scotia." Place-Names and Places of Nova Scotia is another database searchable by county or community that contains brief descriptions and historical facts about more than 2,400 communities.

Calnek, William Arthur, and Alfred William Savary. History of the County of Annapolis Including Old
Port Royal and Acadia: With Memoirs of Its Representation in the Provincial Parliament, and
Biographical and Genealogical Sketches of Its Early English Settlers and Their Families.
 Toronto: William Briggs, 1897. books.google.com/books

––––. History of the County of Annapolis Including Old Port Royal

Repositories

Nova Scotia Archives & Records Management, formerly the Public Archives of Nova Scotia (PANS):
6016 University Avenue
Halifax, Nova Scotia
(902) 424-6060
www.gov.ns.ca/nsarm/
The library holdings are only available for use on-site, but there are numerous databases and materials available through the Virtual Archives, including the searchable database of Historical Vital Statistics. If you're planning a visit to the library, you can search a portion of the catalogue online in advance (as of July 2010, 20,000 entries); the remaining 50,000 titles are listed in the Archives Reading Room Card Catalogue, available onsite. Search for 'Annapolis' in Acadia University's Planter Database for a more convenient way to view NSARM's record holdings.

Annapolis Heritage Society Geneaology Centre
O'Dell House Museum
136 St. George Street
Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia
(902) 532-7754
www.annapolisheritagesociety.com/genealogy
The Centre has significant collections of genealogies, local histories, cemetery and probate records, old scrapbooks, microfilms of vital statistics for Annapolis and Digby counties, church records and deeds and other pertinent information for researchers. Its primary emphasis is on Annapolis Royal and the old townships which were adjacent to Annapolis Royal: Granville, Annapolis, Wilmot and Clements. It also covers the early Acadian settlements prior to 1755.


Annapolis Valley Historical Society MacDonald Museum
21 School Street,
Middleton, Nova Scotia
Phone: (902) 825-6116
www.macdonaldmuseum.ca/
Holdings: family files; obituaries- various; photographic collection – local people and scenes; scrapbooks of local interest stories; church registers- various; cemetery inscriptions; Robert L. Hall Funeral home records, Bridgetown, NS (1907-1975); Township Books, Annapolis & Kings County; vital statistics, Annapolis, Kings, Digby & Lunenburg Counties; census records 1838-1901 Annapolis County; library of local history; land grants- various; Annapolis County probate records – abstracts 1763-1938; Annapolis County school records; local newspapers: Middleton Outlook/Mirror-Examiner 1901-present (indexed from 1901-1925), Bridgetown Monitor 1876-1902

Land Registration Office - Annapolis County
396 Main Street
Lawrencetown, Nova Scotia
(902) 584-7185
Land and property records, maps, geographic information, aerial photographs.

Nova Scotia Department of Natural Resources
Founders Square
1701 Hollis Street
Halifax, Nova Scotia
The DNR Library is on the 3rd floor, phone (902) 424-8633. Displays copies of historical maps of all the counties and sells copies of these and the Crown Land Grant Maps, a series of 140 maps showing the original crown land grants from 1750-1850. The Crown Land Information Management Centre is on the 5th floor, phone (902) 424-3171. Houses copies of all original land grants for the Province of Nova Scotia and grant petition papers for grants issued after early 1850s. Maintains alphabetical index of grants.

Library and Archives Canada
395 Wellington Street
Ottawa, Ontario
1-866-578-7777 (toll free in Canada and the US)
www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/genealogy
Holdings: Federal records for Canada: immigration; census; military; land; other records created by the Government of Canada. Genealogy references: research guidebooks; directories of genealogical societies; bibliographies of family and local histories; biographical dictionaries; genealogical dictionaries; historical atlases. Genealogy sources and finding aids: family and local histories; transcriptions and indexes of parish registers; cemetery records; directories; journals of genealogical and historical societies.

Military History Research Centre
Canadian War Museum
1 Vimy Place
Ottawa, Ontario
(819) 776-8652
www.museedelaguerre.ca/cwm/explore/military-history-research-centre
National collections of primary and secondary research material document Canada's military history from the pre-contact period to the present.


Parent County

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Biographies

At this time, please read about Biographies in the Province of Nova Scotia Resources - Biography.

Cemeteries

At this time, please read about Cemeteries in the Province of Nova Scotia Resources - Cemeteries .

The Annapolis County GenWeb Project has posted a listing of cemetery records, viewable either by surname or by cemetery. The content comes primarily from Dr. Allen Marble's transcriptions of grave stone transcriptions, which were then transcribed into electronic format by the King's County Historical Committee.

RootsWeb mailing list for those researching cemeteries in Nova Scotia.


Census Records

At this time, please read about Census Records in the Province of Nova Scotia Resources - Census .

Census

In Canada, census returns are closed for 92 years after the time of enumeration. For Annapolis County, Nova Scotia, census records are available for the following years: 1770, 1792, 1794, 1827, 1838, 1861, 1871, 1881, 1891, 1901, 1911. Census returns prior to 1851 are rarely complete for any area, and the census returns for Annapolis County in 1851 did not survive. 

Agricultural returns provide information such as lot and concession number, acreage, livestock and agricultural products. The agricultural returns for 1881, 1891, 1901 and 1911 were not retained. For 1851, the returns for Annapolis County did not survive.

  • 1861: For each county, the agricultural returns follow immediately after the personal returns for the whole county.
  • 1871: The personal returns for each enumeration sub-district appear in schedule one. The agricultural returns are schedules three to five and are keyed to schedule one by page and line number rather than by name.

Searchable Databases and Images
All surviving census returns from 1851 to 1916 have been digitized and are currently available on various websites, some of which require a subscription to access.

Year Name of Collection Where Available
* indicates subscription required
1770  Nova Scotia 1770 census  Ancestry.com*
1800-1842  Ontario and Nova Scotia Census, 1800-1842  Ancestry.com*
1861

Nova Scotia Census, 1861
1861 Census of Canada

FamilySearch.org
Ancestry.com*

1871

Canada Census, 1871
1871 Census of Canada

Library and Archives Canada
FamilySearch.org
Ancestry.com

1881

Census of Canada, 1881
Canada Census, 1881
1881 Census of Canada

Library and Archives Canada
FamilySearch.org
Ancestry.com*

1891

Census of Canada, 1891
Canada Census, 1891
1891 Census of Canada

Library and Archives Canada
FamilySearch.org 
Ancestry.com*

1901

Library and Archives Canada
FamilySearch.org
Ancestry.com

1881

Census of Canada, 1881
Canada Census, 1881
1881 Census of Canada

Library and Archives Canada
FamilySearch.org
Ancestry.com*

1891

Census of Canada, 1891
Canada Census, 1891
1891 Census of Canada

Library and Archives Canada
FamilySearch.org 
Ancestry.com*

1901

Census of Canada, 1901
1901 Census of Canada

Library and Archives Canada
Ancestry.com*

1911

Census of Canada, 1911
1911 Census of Canada

Library and Archives Canada 
Ancestry.com*



Microfilm

Year Microfilm Reel No.
(Library and Archives Canada, RG 31)
Microfilm Reel No.
(Family History Library)
1770 M-5219 1376295 Items 1 - 2
1792 M-5219
1794 M-5219
1827 M-5219
1838 M-5220 1376295 Items 3 - 7, and 1376477
1861 865124
1871 C-10542 - C-10544 2229131, 2229132
1881 C-13172 - C-13173 1375808, 1375809
1891 T-6308 and T-6427 (Institutions) 1465733, 1465852
1901 T-6446 - T-6447 1843528, 1843529
1911 T-20356 2417680, 2417681



Church Records

At this time, please read about Church Records in the Province of Nova Scotia Resources - Church Records .

Church

Church Records at NSARM: A Searchable Database is an index to the records available on microfilm at NSARM (in-person use only). A search for 'Annapolis' reveals information on the holdings for 16 churches in Annapolis County.

Some of these records also have been filmed by the Family History Library:

  • Granville parish (All Saints), baptisms, 1790-1801, 1829-1858; marriages, 1790-1801, 1814-1882; burials, 1828-1918; All Saints baptisms, 1859-1918 (includes confirmations); film number 1376194 Items 3-4
  • Parish registers of Wilmot, Aylesford and Bridgetown, Anglican 1789-1909; film number 1012328 Items 6-11
  • Church of England in Canada and Methodist Church for various parishes in Annapolis County; time periods range from 1700s to early 1900s; film number 928970

A database of Nova Scotia church records is available to members of the Genealogical Association of Nova Scotia.

A database of ministers of religion conducting marriages in Nova Scotia is available to members of the Genealogical Association of Nova Scotia.

See also, Nova Scotia Church Records

Court Records

At this time, please read about Court Records in the Province of Nova Scotia Resources - Court Records .

Divorces and Other Court Records

NSARM has an online searchable indices of court records (originals only available in person):


Directories

At this time, please read about Directories in the Province of Nova Scotia Resources - Directories .

City, Provincial, and Business Directories

Nova Scotia Archives & Records Management (NSARM) has a collection of published directories, beginning with Nugent's Business Directory for the City of Halifax for 1858-59 (1858) and the first McAlpine's Halifax City Directory (1868) to the most recent set of telephone books for the province. Many, but not all, are available on microfilm.

List of directories available on microfilm at NSARM

NSARM has digitized McAlpine's Nova Scotia Directory 1907-08, searchable by county or town name and by first letter of surname.

Others are available in printed form; holdings can be found in the Library Catalogue.

Ancestry.com has digitized some Nova Scotia directories (subscription required).

Education

The Family History Library has filmed records at NSARM, RG14:

  • Annapolis County School Papers, 1811-1923; film numbers: 2260562 Item 2, 2260563 Items 1 - 2
  • Nova Scotia school papers, Academies, 1820-1867; film number: 2260937
  • Nova Scotia school papers, Grammar Schools, 1811-1864; film numbers: 2260938, 2260939 Item 1
  • Nova Scotia school papers, 1827-1872 (school lands, and normal and model schools); film number 2224309 Item 2

A database of some 19th century Annapolis County school records is available to members of the Genealogical Association of Nova Scotia.

Genealogy

At this time, please read about Genealogies in the Province of Nova Scotia Resources - Genealogy .

Government Records

According to Nova Scotia Archives & Records Management:
"Civil registration of vital statistics began in Nova Scotia in 1763 with the introduction of procedures for obtaining a marriage licence; the procedure was optional and the surviving records are incomplete. Formalized registration of births, deaths and marriages began in 1864 and continued to 1877, at which time record-keeping lapsed for births and deaths, but continued for marriages. Compliance was not universal during this period and there are gaps in the surviving records. Since 1 October 1908, birth, death and marriage registrations have been collected and maintained continuously."

NSARM's online searchable database of Historical Vital Statistics contains an index and digital images of original records for births, delayed births, marriages (bonds and registrations), and deaths for the following years:
Births: 1864-1877, 1908-1909
Delayed Birth Registrations: 1830-1909
Marriage Bonds: 1763-1864
Marriage Registrations 1864-1934
Deaths: 1864-1877, 1908-1959

As of 2010, the Vital Statistics Division of Service Nova Scotia and Municipal Relations

Land and Property Records

At this time, please read about Land and Property Records in the Province of Nova Scotia Resources - Land and Property .

Land

The Annapolis County Land Registration Office in Lawrencetown, Nova Scotia maintains land ownership and related property information, plus maps and geographic information.

The Family History Library has microfilmed records from the Annapolis County Registrar of Deeds:

  • Index to deeds, 1765-1970; film numbers 814052-814058
  • Deeds, 1763-1910; film numbers 814072-817431
  • Grantor index, 1965-1970; film numbers 814059-814071
  • Extracts of land grants, 1732-1827; film number 477530 Item 1
  • Land grants, 1854-1953 with index for 1854-1950; film numbers 817432-817437

Nova Scotia Archives & Records Management has an online searchable database of transcribed land petitions from 1769-1799. The originals of these petitions, as well as later grant petition papers, are stored at the Crown Land Information Management Centre at the Nova Scotia Department of Natural Resources, which makes copies available for a fee. Assistance with searches is available through the DNR Library.

The Annapolis County GenWeb Project has posted name indexes to the Land Grants maps for Annapolis County, which identify parcels of land by grantee names. The map numbers correspond to a series of 140 online maps hosted by the Crown Land Information Management Centre.

Additional Reference
Gilroy, Marion. Loyalists and Land Settlement in Nova Scotia. Halifax: Public Archives of Nova Scotia, 1937.

Smith, Clifford Neal. Whereabouts of Some American Refugees, 1784–1800: the Nova Scotian Land Grants. 7 vols. McNeal, Arizona: Vestland Publications, 1992.


Local Histories

At this time, please read about Local Histories in the Province of Nova Scotia Resources - History .

Maps

At this time, please read about Maps in the Province of Nova Scotia Resources - Maps .

  • Ambrose F. Church was commissioned by the Nova Scotia legislature to create maps of each of Nova Scotia's 18 counties. The map for Annapolis County is dated 1876 and shows names and sometimes occupations of residents, along with detailed topographical information. Copies of the county maps hang in the Library of the Nova Scotia Department of Natural Resources, and copies are available for purchase from the Library. The maps are very large (approx. 4.5ft x 5ft), and copies are usually made onto two overlapping sheets.
  • A copy of the A.F. Church map divided into 17 leaves is available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah.
  • Electoral Atlas of the Dominion of Canada (1895)
  • Free Maps from the Nova Scotia government for general reference of educational purposes
  • Online Map Store provided by the Nova Scotia Geomatics Centre


Military Records

At this time, please read about Military Records in the Province of Nova Scotia Resources - Military Records .

Records
Veteran Affairs Canada has a Virtual War Memorial with listings of graves and memorials, some with photographs and personal memorabilia. It also has excerpts from wartime letters and diaries.

The Canadian War Museum has an online searchable database of newspaper clippings from World War II.

Library and Archives Canada has extensive holdings in microfilm on Canadian military records and topics.

The Family History Library has filmed the Index to Commissions in the Public Archives of Nova Scotia collection, 1749-1867; film numbers 2139850, 2281095-2281097

NSARM has a searchable virtual archive of non-governmental materials (postcards, letters, photographs, etc.) of The Royal Canadian Navy: First Half Century, 1910-1967

Reference
From Colony to Country: A Reader's Guide to Canadian Military History, web resource by the Library and Archives Canada.


Canadian War Museum

Canadian Military History Gateway, web resource by the Government of Canada

Raddall, Thomas H. West Novas: A History of the West Nova Scotia Regiment. Liverpool, Nova Scotia: The Author, 1986.

Gilroy, Marion. Loyalists and Land Settlement in Nova Scotia. Halifax: Public Archives of Nova Scotia, 1937.

Newspapers & Obituaries

At this time, please read about Newspapers and Obituaries in the Province of Nova Scotia Resources - Newspapers .

Records
NSARM has a virtual image archive of some Nova Scotia newspapers, though none specific to Annapolis County.

List of Nova Scotia newspapers available on microfilm at Library and Archives Canada:
http://www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/newspapers-at-lac/035005-1170-e.html

Reference
Tratt, Gertrude E. N. A Survey and Listing of Nova Scotia Newspapers, 1752-1957, with Particular Reference to the Period Before 1867. Halifax, Nova Scotia: Dalhousie University, 1979.

Hicks, Brenda, Lynn Murphy, and Anjali Vohra. Nova Scotia Newspapers: A Directory and Union List, 1752-1988. Halifax, Nova Scotia: School of Library and Information Studies, Dalhousie University, 1990.


Probate Records

At this time, please read about Probate Records in the Province of Nova Scotia Resources - Probate Records .

Taxation Records

At this time, please read about Taxation Records in the Province of Nova Scotia Resources - Taxation .

Township Records

NSARM has an online searchable index to the Poll tax rolls, 1791-1793 (original records on microfilm available in person).

The Family History Library also has these poll tax rolls on microfilm: 1376295 Items 1 - 2

Townships records on microfilm at NSARM (only available onsite) also have been filmed by the Family History Library:

Granville Township
Town register of births, marriages, deaths and ear marks, 1720-1881; film number: 928972 Items 12 - 13
Granville parish (All Saints), baptisms, 1790-1801, 1829-1858; marriages, 1790-1801, 1814-1882; burials, 1828-1918 -- List of town clerks and township vital records, 1779-1876 -- All Saints baptisms, 1859-1918 (includes confirmations) -- Township records including births, marriages, deaths, 1779-1933 (includes two indexes, "This is apparently a partial copy of an earlier volume, with additions."); film number 1376194 Items 3-4

Annapolis, Windsor and Wilmot
Annapolis town meetings, 1790-1853 -- Annapolis [County] grand jury, 1786-1800 -- Windsor town meetings, 1799-1845 -- Wilmot, 1749-1894 : births, marriages, deaths (includes index), 1749-1894; ear marks, 1847-1893; Annapolis general sessions, ordinances concerning the township of Wilmot, 1839, 1842; ear marks, 1786-1875; film number: 1421093


Vital Records

At this time, please read about Vital Records in the Province of Nova Scotia Resources - Vital Records . and Acadia: Supplement. Toronto: William Briggs, 1913.

Fergusson, Charles Bruce. The Boundaries of Nova Scotia and Its Counties. Halifax, Nova Scotia: Public Archives of Nova Scotia, 1966.

Morse, William I. Gravestones of Acadie: And Other Essays on Local History, Genealogy and Parish Records of Annapolis County, Nova Scotia. London: A. Smith & Co., 1929.

maintains records for more recent records:
Births: 1910-present
Marriages: 1935-present
Deaths: 1960-present

Filmed by the Family History Library:

  • Annapolis Township births, marriages and deaths, 1747, 1774-1874, 1884 organized primarily by families; film number 1376192 Item 1.
  • Granville Township register of births, marriages, deaths and ear marks, 1720-1881; film number: 928972 Items 12 - 13


Published Indexes and Transcriptions of Vital Records

The Genealogical Association of Nova Scotia (formerly the Genealogical Committee of the Royal Nova Scotia Historical Society) has published a series of books that list vital statistics reported in newspapers covering the years 1759-1856. The publications are for sale on the GANS website. Or search for the title Nova Scotia Vital Statistics from Newspapers on WorldCat to find them in a library.

A database of Annapolis and Digby marriage records is available to members of the Genealogical Association of Nova Scotia.

The Annapolis Valley Newspaper Extracts Project has published online transcriptions of vital statistics from selected newspapers covering 1866-1931.

RootsWeb mailing list for postings and lookups of obituaries


Wills

The Family History Library has microfilmed records of the Annapolis County Courthouse:

  • Probate wills, 1763-1970; probate acts, 1844-1911, 1938-1970; petitions, 1926-1938; letters of administration, 1926-1969; letters testamentary, 1901-1970; film numbers 817440-817455
  • Wills, 1879-1970 (copies of wills pertaining to land transactions); film numbers 817437-817439
  • Estate files, 1763-1930 with index for 1763-1979; index film number: 1838799



Societies and Libraries

Web Sites

References

Additional Research References

Print

Genealogy Source: Where to Find Genealogical Information in Nova Scotia. Halifax, Nova Scotia: Council of Nova Scotia Archives, 2002.

Elliot, Noel Montgomery, ed. The Atlantic Canadians, 1600–1900: An Alphabetized Directory of the People, Places, and Vital Dates. 3 vols. Toronto: Genealogical Research Library, 1994.

Marble, Allan E. A Catalogue of Published Genealogies of Nova Scotia Families. Halifax, Nova Scotia: Genealogical Association of the Royal Nova Scotia Historical Society, 1984.

Morris, Julie. Tracing Your Ancestors in Nova Scotia. Halifax: Public Archives of Nova Scotia, 1987.

Morse, William I. Gravestones of Acadie: And Other Essays on Local History, Genealogy and Parish Records of Annapolis County, Nova Scotia. London: A. Smith & Co., 1929.

Peterson, Jean, Lynn Murphy, and Heather MacDonald. The Loyalist Guide: Nova Scotian Loyalists and Their Documents. Halifax, Nova Scotia: Public Archives of Nova Scotia, 1983.

Punch, Terrence M. Erin's Sons: Irish Arrivals in Atlantic Canada to 1863. 4 vols. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 2008-2010.

Punch, Terrence M. Genealogical Research in Nova Scotia. Halifax, Nova Scotia: Petheric Press, 1978.

Punch, Terrence M. Genealogist's Handbook for Atlantic Canada Research. Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 1989.

Punch, Terrence M. In Which County?: Nova Scotia Surnames from Birth Registers, 1864 to 1877. Halifax, Nova Scotia: Genealogical Association of the Royal Nova Scotia Historical Society, 1985.

Smith, Leonard H, and Norma H. Smith. Nova Scotia Immigrants to 1867. 2 vols. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1992. Also digitized and searchable on Ancestry.com

County Guide Series, No. 5. Halifax, Nova Scotia: Public Archives of Nova Scotia, 1990.

Internet

Nova Scotia Genealogy Records Online

Annapolis County GenWeb Project

Genealogical Association of Nova Scotia

Canadian Genealogy and History Links

Acadia University's Planter Studies Centre, focused on the New England residents who settled in Nova Scotia in the late 1700s.


Thorpe, Wendy L. Annapolis County. Nova Scotia Genealogical Sources

 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 31 December 2012, at 17:29.
  • This page has been accessed 3,445 times.