Annesley, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Annesley, Nottinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.

Annesley, Nottinghamshire
Annesley All Saints Nottinghamshire.jpg
Annesley All Saints Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxtow
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Basford PLU
Registration District Basford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1599
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nottingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ANNESLEY (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Basford, N. division of the wapentake of Broxtow and of the county of Nottingham, 10 miles (N. N. W.) from Nottingham with the hamlets of Annesley-Woodhouse and Wandesley, and the extraparochial district of Felly.[1]

The 12th century church of All Saints fell into disuse and is now in ruins and have been listed as an Ancient monument. Ruined church listing The church is referred to in literature by both Lord Byron and D.H. Lawrence who lived in the county.

The church of All Saints was rebuilt in 1907 following fire and has been designated a grade II* listed building by English Heritage British listed building

See also Annesley All Saints and Annesley Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This area was in the Basford registration district

Church records

Annesley, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
ANNESLEY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1790-1812


Annesley All Saints

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1599-1959 Marriages 1599-1955 Burials 1599-1881 Bishop’s Transcripts 1605-1867
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Annesley

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438903.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Basford Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Annesley in GENUKI:  http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/Annesley/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 58-62. Date accessed: 14 April 2012.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 December 2014, at 21:00.
  • This page has been accessed 2,127 times.