Ansley, WarwickshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png WarwickshireGotoarrow.png Warwickshire Parishes

Guide to Ansley, Warwickshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ansley, Warwickshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hemlingford
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Atherstonef PLU
Registration District Atherstone
Records begin
Parish registers: 1637
Bishop's Transcripts: 1667
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Arden
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1837 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory); Post-1836 - Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Ansley, is a parish in Atherstone district, Warwickshire; it is on the river Bourne, 5 miles W of Nuneaton railway station. The post office is under Atherstone. There is an Independentchapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ansley, Warwickshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[2][3]
Ansley, Warwickshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1633-1812 1633-1812 1633-1812 1633-1812 1633-1812 1633-1812
AC 1813-1910 1813-1910

Bishops Transcripts deposited at The Lichfield Record Office: Bap 1667-1846 Marr 1667-1836 Bur 1667-1846

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464170.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted. Date accessed: 16 October, 2013
  2. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 13 June 2014.
  3. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 July 2014, at 16:44.
  • This page has been accessed 699 times.