Anson County, North CarolinaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Anson County North Carolina genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Anson County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Anson County Courthouse
N Green Street P O Box 352
Wadesboro, NC 28170
Death & Register of Deeds has birth records from 1913
marriage records from 1869 and land records
Clerk Superior Court has divorce from 1868
Probate records from 1750 & court records from 1770
"The county was formed in 1750 from Bladen County. It was named for George Anson, Baron Anson, a British admiral, who circumnavigated the globe from 1740 to 1744, and later became First Lord of the Admiralty. Like its parent county, Anson County was originally a vast territory with indefinite northern and western boundaries. Reductions in its extent began in 1753, when the northern part of it became Rowan County. In 1762 the western part of Anson County became Mecklenburg County. In 1779 the northern part of what remained of Anson County became Montgomery County, and the part east of the Pee Dee River became Richmond County. Finally, in 1842 the western part of Anson County was combined with the southeastern part of Mecklenburg County to become Union County."
Anson County was named in honor of British Admiral Lord George Anson, a First Lord of the Admiralty. He commanded the vessel which brought Princess Charlotte of Mecklenburg-Strelitz Germany, to her future husband King George III. Germans to the area around Anson County, as did many settlers from the British Isles, Africa, and Moravia. In 1750 Anson County was formed from Bladen County. At that time, it reached all the way to the Mississippi River. Although it has been cut in physical size five times since then, the people of that county have enabled its presence to reach beyond the Mississippi to the far corners of the world.
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
1868--A courthouse fire destroyed many records.
Retired North Carolina State Archivist Thornton Mitchell's article can help you discover your Anson County ancestors despite record loss:
- Mitchell, Thornton W. "Problems of Anson County Records," The North Carolina Genealogical Society Journal, Vol. 15, No. 2 (May 1989):66-68. FHL Book 975.6 B2s v. 15 (1989).
- For a list of record loss in North Carolina counties see: North Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses
- Chesterfield County, South Carolina
- Marlboro County, South Carolina
For tips on accessing Anson County, North Carolina census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
- Beaverdam. Constituted 1790.
- Cartledge Creek aka Dockery's Meeting House, near Rockingham, N.C. Organized about 1774. Currently located in Richmond County.
- Fork of Little River. Church built 1758. Later located in Montgomery County.
- Hitchcock. Constituted 1772. Edwards published a membership list dated 1772 in Materials Towards a History of the Baptists... (1772), 128. Later located in Richmond County.
- Pee Dee River. Constituted 1785.
- Rocky River, Burnsville, N.C. Began before 1772.
Church of England
- St. George's Parish. Established 1749.
- Anson County Heritage, North Carolina, 1995. Wadesboro, N.C.: Don Mills & Anson County Heritage Book Committee, 1995. FHL Book 975.6753 H2ac.
- [Burns] Kelman, Helen Parker. Parkers of Anson Co., N.C. with the Burnses and Curlees. Raleigh, N.C.: H.P. Kelman, c1993, 2001. FHL Collection.
- [Curlee] Kelman, Helen Parker. Parkers of Anson Co., N.C. with the Burnses and Curlees. Raleigh, N.C.: H.P. Kelman, c1993, 2001. FHL Collection.
- [Gulledge] Wiggins, Marie Gulledge. "Anson County, North Carolina Marriages," "Anson County, North Carolina Records," and "Anson County, North Carolina Court Records," Marie G. Wiggins Genealogical Collection Including Variant Surnames. MSS. Microfilmed 1993: FHL Film 1750753 Items 3-5.
- [Hardin] Craig, Marion Stark. Benjamin Hardin (IV): 1764-1848 (Revolutionary War Soldier and Pensioner) and Wife, Elizabeth Scott and Their Family Connections: A Genealogical Compilation. Little Rock, Ark.: M.S. Craig, 1991. FHL Book 929.273 H219c.
- [Helms] Myers, Sara M. and Sallie C. Pressley. George Helms and Tilman Helms, 1720-1900: History & Genealogy of the Helms Family, Pioneers of Anson & Meck. Counties, North Carolina, Five Generations. Cassopolis, Mich.: S.M. Myers, 1981. FHL Book 929.273 H369m.
- [Huntley] Redfearn, Daniel Huntley. History of the Redfearn Family. Miami, Fla.: n.p., 1942. FHL Book 929.273 R247 1942.
- [Jarman] German, John L. "Finding the Father of David German of North Carolina and Shelby County, Indiana," The American Genealogist, Vol. 68, No. 2 (Apr. 1993):87-94.
- [McLendon] Redfearn, Rosalind McLendon. The McLendons of Anson County. Wadesboro, N.C.: n.p., 1957. FHL Film 496748 Item 1.
- [Moore] Austin, Nancy Jane Moore and Mary Lois Moore Yandle. The Moore Families of Anson and Union Counties, North Carolina: 1750-1986. Charlotte, N.C.: N.J.M. Austin, c1988. FHL Fiche 6087508 (5 fiche).
- [Parker] Kelman, Helen Parker. Parkers of Anson Co., N.C. with the Burnses and Curlees. Raleigh, N.C.: H.P. Kelman, c1993, 2001. FHL Collection.
- [Preslar] Dunn, Edwin C. Some Genealogical Notes on the Preslar/Presley Family of Anson Co., N.C. Albuquerque, N.M.: E.C. Dunn, 1985. FHL Book 929.273 P926d.
- [Presley] Dunn, Edwin C. Some Genealogical Notes on the Preslar/Presley Family of Anson Co., N.C. Albuquerque, N.M.: E.C. Dunn, 1985. FHL Book 929.273 P926d.
- [Redfearn] Redfearn, Daniel Huntley. History of Redfearn Family. Miami, Fla.: n.p., 1942. FHL Book 929.273 R247 1942.
- [Redfearn] Redfearn, Daniel Huntley. History of the Redfearn Family. Miami, Fla.: Redfearn, 1954. FHL Book 929.273 R247 1954.
- [Redfearn] Redfern, Michael Robert. The History of the Redfearn Family Revisited. Louisville, Colo.: M.R. Redfern, c2005. FHL Book 929.273 R247rm.
- [Reed] Craig, Marion Stark. Benjamin Hardin (IV): 1764-1848 (Revolutionary War Soldier and Pensioner) and Wife, Elizabeth Scott and Their Family Connections: A Genealogical Compilation. Little Rock, Ark.: M.S. Craig, 1991. FHL Book 929.273 H219c.
- [Reed] Craig, Marion Stark. Joseph Reed (Died 1751) of Anson County, NC & Wife, Elizabeth, Who Married James Deacon and Lived in Rowan County, NC: A Genealogical Compilation. Little Rock, Ark.: M.S. Craig, 1991. FHL Book 929.273 R251cm.
- [Sheppard] Sheppard, Thomas C. The Sheppard Family: Descendants of William Sheppard of Anson County, North Carolina. Fairmont, W.Va.: T.C. Sheppard, 1992. FHL Film 1750808 Item 6; digital version at Family History Archives.
- [Taylor] Taylor, James L. Stephen Taylor and Descendants, Johnston and Anson Counties, North Carolina and Westward 1750's-1996. Typescript. Microfilmed 2001: FHL Film 1440365 Item 14; digital version at Family History Archives.
- [Wall]] Thomas, Anne Wall. The Walls of Walltown: The Known Descendants of James Wall of Anson County, North Carolina. Carrboro, N.C.: A.W. Thomas, c1969. Digital version at Family History Archive.
- [Wiggins] Wiggins, Marie Gulledge. "Individuals found in Anson co., N.C. deeds," in Wiggins Genealogical Collection. MSS. Microfilmed 1990: FHL Film 1597761 Items 1-2.
Anson County land and deed records may be obtained through the local Register of Deeds or through the North Carolina State Archives for older records. Contact the Registry's office at the below address, and also click onto the link to get further details about the office:
Anson County Register of Deeds
101 S. Greene Street, Suite 131
Wadesboro, NC 28170
There are a number of transcribed Deed Records at the following:
Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.
- - 14th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, formerly the 4th Volunteers, Company C
:- 1st Brigade, North Carolina Reserves, Company I
:- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company I
:- 4th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (59th North Carolina State Troops), Company A
:- 6th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company G
:- 6th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company I
- Anson Record - full-text digital issues in Google News Archive; covers 1955-1981
- Anson Record & Messenger Intelligencer - full-text digital issues in Google News Archive; covers 1981-1982
- Anson County USGenWeb Newspapers
- North Carolina Newspapers Project -info from the State Library about what kinds of newspaper records are available on microfilm
Copies of Wills are available through the County Clerk of the Court or through the North Carolina State Archives.
- Pre-1790 - Pre-1790 Anson County, North Carolina Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online - free. Website tips.
- 1751-1962 - Will Books 1 to 2 and A to J (1751-1962) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
- Minutes of the Pleas and Quarter Session Court 1738-1741; 1759-1769 and General Index (information about wills, inventories, sales, orphans, administrators, etc.) North Carolina Pioneers ($)
- Anson County NC Loose Estates Index, 1663-1979
- Clerk of Court - Telephone: 704-694-2314
- North Carolina State Archives - a listing of the services available through the Archives
- Anson County Wills from the USGenWeb Archives
Anson County was formed from Bladen County around 1749. The first courthouse was located on the north bank of the Pee Dee River in an area called Mount Pleasant. In 1782, it was decided that the location of the courthouse was unsatisfactory, and a commission was formed to select a more appropriate site. The commission established the county seat in New Town, the first chartered town in Anson County.
The name of the town was later changed from New Town to Wadesboro. We are currently in our sixth courthouse. Through all the years, the moves and the fires, we have managed to keep all our deed records. The first deed recorded in the first book is dated March 25, 1749. Our marriage records, sadly, are a different story. Except for a few marriage bonds and a list of marriages gleaned from other sources, our early marriage records did not survive the courthouse fire of 1868. Our current marriage records start after this date. North Carolina did not require counties to maintain copies of birth and death records until late 1913, so our records for births and deaths date from October 1913 foward. Wills are kept in the office of the Clerk of Court.
The Anson County Register of Deeds office is located at 101 S. Greene St., Suite 131, Wadesboro, NC. Our office hours are 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday. We observe legal holidays at the direction of the Board of County Commissioners. Two hour parking is available on the street. We are a small but very busy office ,and our work space is limited. We often have attorneys, paralegals, real estate agents, appraisers, geneologist, etc. using the office at the same time. We ask that each person be considerate of others working and doing research in the office, and help us provide an atmosphere in which we can all work. If you have any questions, call us at 704-994-3208. We look foward to seeing you in Anson County.
- 1870-1962 - Anson County Birth Index 1870-1962. Batch C752294 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1870-1903 - Anson County Bastardy Bonds - Betty Camin's online database covers 1870-1903
- 1749-1979 - Anson County Marriage Index 1749-1979 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
- Anson County Marriages from the USGenWeb Archives
- GenWed has marriages for Anson County as early as 1825. They are abstracts from various sources.
- Anson County students at NC colleges - a list via the NCGenWeb Yearbook Index
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
- Anson County, NC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- NCGenWeb: Anson County - free genealogy resources; part of the national USGenWeb Project
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Anson County USGenWeb Archives
- North Carolina Pioneers ($)
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Anson County, North Carolina p. 506. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 2:225-226, 561. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- ↑ "Cartledge Creek Baptist Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ "Rocky River Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ Donna Sherron, "North Carolina Parishes," accessed 12 October 2012. Digital version at Lost Souls Genealogy - free.
- ↑ 7.0 7.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:27.
- This page has been accessed 19,978 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki