Anston cum Membris, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Anston cum Membris

Guide to Anston cum Membris, Yorkshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Anston cum Membris, Yorkshire
South Anston St James Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Strafforth and Tickhill
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Worksop PLU
Registration District Worksop
Records begin
Parish registers: 1544
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Doncaster
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Chancellor of York with the Prebendal Jurisdiction of Laughton en le Morthen
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Anston cum Membris is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1736 from Laughton en le Morthen. Other places in the parish include: Membris, Woodsetts, South Anston, and North Anston.

ANSTON, NORTH and SOUTH (St. James), a parish, in the union of Worksop, South division of the wapentake of Strafforth and Tickhill, West Riding of Yorkshire; containing, with the township of Woodsetts, 1102 inhabitants. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records
Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Anston cum Membris exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
ANSTON CUM MEMBRIS ECCLESIASTICAL PARISH (1707) Online Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1709-1848 1707-1846 None
JOIN None None None
AC None None None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Anston cum Membris to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Anston cum Membris page.

List of Chapelry's in this Parish


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non-conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464277.

Poor Law Unions

Worksop Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 58-62. Date accessed: 4 Dec 2013.
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 October 2014, at 17:26.
  • This page has been accessed 2,096 times.