Antingham, Norfolk GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Antingham, Norfolk)

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Antingham, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Antingham, Norfolk
Antingham Parish Church.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Erpingham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Erpingham
Registration District Erpingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1679
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Repps
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office
Antingham Parish Church.jpg


Parish History

Antingham St Mary is an ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich and shares the churchyard with the ruined Antingham St Margaret.

The present church underwent restoration in 1865 and survived earlier disrepair when stone from St Margaret was used to repair it leading to the ruin of St Margaret. 

Additional information on this parish is available at

ANTINGHAM, a parish, in the union of Erpingham, hundred of North Erpingham, E. division of Norfolk, 2½ miles (N. W.) from North Walsham.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Erpingham 1837-1938
  • North Walsham 1939-1974
  • The Register Office, 18 Kings Arms Street, North Walsham, NR28 9JX.
    Tel/Fax: 01692 406220. E-mail:

Church records

Antingham, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
Antingham, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

FREG 1679-1812
FS ATs 1726-1812 1726-1812 1726-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

England Norfolk Church of England Bishops’ Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue


Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438853.


1841 Census Returns courtesy of Norfolk Transcription Archives

1891 Census Surnames Index courtesy of Norfolk Transcription Archives

See Norfolk Census

Land Records

1597 Subsidy Taxes courtesy of Norfolk Transcription Archives

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Erpingham Poor Law Union

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Erpingham workhouse

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


WW1 War Memorial: hosted by Norfolk Transcription Archives

WW2 War Memorial: hosted by Norfolk Transcription Archives



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 62-66. Date accessed: 28 August 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 21 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 May 2015, at 00:26.
  • This page has been accessed 7,594 times.